Norasport round eight from Blyton

Published: 12 September 2007

Saturday’s Youth Racing Saturday saw Oliver Harrison as the fastest qualifier, and James Moore who is improving vastly was to start the first race behind Lewis Cornish in third position.

Oliver Harrison went on to lead the first race from Lewis Cornish, and James Moore went unchallenged in third position.

Race two was almost identical of race one, with Oliver Harrison, Lewis Cornish and James Moore in first, second and third positions. But a mistake in the final race saw Oliver Harrison loose places after he fell in the chicane, he pulled back those lost places and he had almost caught Lewis Cornish as the final flag was shown.

Lewis Cornish took the win and the final trophy and James Moore had a hat trick of third place finishes.

Final Race Results Youth
1. Lewis Cornish, 2. Oliver Harrison, 3. James Moore, 4. Jordan Holliday, 5. Josh Haselden

In the 450 National Championship Russ Plevin was fastest in the first B group race, with Chris Cunningham also moving up following race one. Mitch Garnet, Chris Walker, and Dave George the started race two on the front row of the grid, it was Chris Walker who made the most of the start to go onto win the second race. Mitch Garnet and Dave George had excellent finishes and crossed the line in second and third positions.

In the final race it was nice to see Rob Frost comfortable on a bike, as he climbed though the pack to take the final win from Dave George in second place. Dave George had been working his way towards the win all day and only narrowly missed out. Nick Gemzoe had the third and final trophy for third place.

James Addy’s biggest threat in the first A group race would be Shane Hewitt. Although Shane led the first race initially, James Addy used the tight chicane to gain the advantage; and once at the front he had claimed the win and Shane Hewitt had to be content with second position. This left Darren Wells in third place.

Bruce Dingle had a brief lead in race two followed by Shane Hewitt, but into the second lap James Addy took a commanding lead once again, and left Shane Hewitt now chasing Dingle for second position; these positions would remain unchallenged.

In the final race Shane would once again briefly lead from Bruce Dingle, but James Addy quickly claimed the lead and was untouchable. Shane kept Bruce at bay for the whole race and took the second place trophy to leave Bruce with a third place finish.

Final Race Results 450B Class
1. Rob Frost, 2. Dave George, 3. Nick Gemzoe, 4. Matthew Perry, 5. Gary McCluskey

Final Race Results 450A Class
1. James Addy, 2.  Shane Hewitt, 3. Bruce Dingle, 4. Stephen Booth, 5. Darren Wells

The Open Class championship was hosted on Sunday in front of a large crowd, and the C Group race saw Bob Hart and Michael Davies unchallenged in first and second positions. This was until the final lap when Paul Reynolds put a move on Michael Davis to claim second place.

Race two and Ben Hallam stole the win from the start, while Dave Brookes had a few battles putting in the fastest lap; before he settled into second spot for the finish.

Mark Smith improved on his fifth position in race one to finish third in the second race. In the final race Mark Smith held the lead, while Steve Alford and Tim Smith trying to claim that precious spot.

In the dying stages of this race Tim Smith pushed hard enough to take the lead, but a fall in the final chicane saw Shane Gibbins taking the advantage and the winning trophy.

Mark Smith had remained close enough to claim the second place and Steve Alford who had been in the thick of the battling took third.

In the B Group Scott Billington had the early lead in race one, but Ben Kirkman went through and claimed the winning position. Midway through the race Chris Walker also came through and into second place leaving Scott to take third.

Race two was underway and Robert Drake had a clear lead all the way to the line. Steve Ellis had been in with a shout early in the race as he held second for a while, before losing his grasp on the lead.

Karl Geary had an excellent race battling through to third position.

In the final race, Karl Geary started on pole position and did not let go of his commanding lead. Dan Spencer had looked to be the favourite for second spot, but Dave Jolly stormed through to take home a trophy.

Shane Hewitt was the early leader in the first A group race from James Addy and Bruce Dingle, but James took very little time in claiming the lead. This left Shane Hewitt and Bruce Dingle to decide second spot and it was Shane who took the honours.

Race two and James Addy was away at the front, this time followed by Kevin Drayton. Chris Babbitt had a great race and came home third.

In the final race James Addy looked for his third and final win and with only a challenge from Kevin Drayton, he took full points and all three wins.

Kevin Drayton then found himself under pressure from Bruce Dingle, who clearly wanted second spot and was setting the fastest lap times. Kevin however was unfaltering and closed every door to secure second place for himself.

As for Champion ship points, James Addy had a clean sweep, followed by Kevin Drayton and Bruce Dingle.

Final Race Result Open A Group
1. James Addy, 2. Kevin Drayton, 3 Bruce Dingle, 4. Darren Wells, 5. Stephen Booth

Final Race Result Open B Group
1. Karl Geary, 2. David Jolly, 3. Sean Haran, 4. Steve Ellis, 5. Dan Spencer

Final Race Result Open C Group
1. Shane Gibbins, 2. Mark Smith, 3. Steve Alford, 4. Liam Riley, 5. Keith Topliss