David Knight crowned World Indoor Enduro Champion

1 of 1

Manxman David Knight has been crowned World Cup Indoor Enduro champion after finishing second in the third and final round of the series in Genoa.

Genoa was a cliff-hanger for Knight. He had some difficulties in the semi-finals and was forced to contest the last chance final in which only the first two riders advance to the final.

KTM team-mates Taddy Blazusiask who finished second in the World Cup, and Cyril Despres then closed ranks to support David Knight in his bid for a podium place and the title. Despres won the holeshot and both he and Blazusiask worked to make sure Knight had the best opportunity of finishing among the front runners.

Arch rival Mike Aloha of Finland failed to make it to the final resolving a close contest between him and Blazusiask to see who would be second in the three-event World Cup standings.

David Knight rode hard in the final late Saturday night to finish second behind French rider Antoine Meo. The result bumped his points in the World Cup standings to 42, well ahead of second placed Blazusiask with 23. Aloha finished third with 22. 

David Knight said: "Winning the Indoor Enduro World Cup, as well as the GNCC, Aussie four-day and the Endurocross championships, well, it's great. It was tough tonight though.

“There was one rock on the last lap that I thought was going to take the chain off, so I was a bit lucky. It's hard when there is a lot of pressure on you and I made things hard by messing up my heat race.

“I knew I could win the LCQ easily but my heat proved that things can easily go wrong. I made a few mistakes and just couldn't get into a rhythm. It was a relief to finally get into the final." 

The event drew a crowd of more than 8000 fans to conclude the three-event World Cup and due to the popularity of the indoor events, the World Cup could be expanded to five or six events for 2008/2009.

Results - Genoa Indoor Enduro 2008
1. Antoine Meo, France Husqvarna
2. David Knight, Britain, KTM
3. Ivan Cervantes, Spain, KTM
4. Bartosz Oblucki, Poland, Husqvarna
5. Fabio Mossini, Italy, Honda
6. Taddy Blazusiak, Poland KTM 

Indoor Enduro World Cup Final Championship Standings
1.  David Knight KTM 42 points
2. Taddy Blazusiak KTM 23 points
3. Mike Ahola, Honda 22 points

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sportsdesk

By MCN Sportsdesk