Ad closing in seconds....

MX1 and MX2: Tommy Searle, Tyla Rattray and Marc de Reuver clean up at Hawkstone

Published: 03 March 2008

Updated: 24 November 2014

KTM UK rider Shaun Simpson led from the off in the first MX2 moto.

Tommy Searle was right on his tail, but Simpson just shrugged off the pressure of having the world number two knocking on the door.

At the halfway mark, it was Searle who blinked first, dropping his factory KTM and effectively ending his race.

Shaun Simpson meanwhile brought his orange bike serenely home for the win ahead of Erik Eggens, a rejuvenated Stephen Sword, Belgian wonderkid Jeremy Van Horebeek and another KTM star, Tyla Rattray.

Moto two looked set for a replay, with Shaun Simpson heading Tommy Searle, but Simpson suffered a small crash and was unable to restart his bike.

Searle collided with a lapper at the top of the hill which opened the gate for Rattray to take the win, followed home by Searle, Sword and Eggens. But today the story was Shaun Simpson and he’s got plenty for Tommy Searle to be thinking about at the minute.

In the big bike MX2 class, Ken De Dycker took a debut win in moto one for his new Suzuki team.

The Belgian man mountain led World Champion Steve Ramon and Marc De Reuver over the line, after Britain’s Billy Mackenzie led comfortably for the first half of the race.

The Scot, now racing for Big Ken’s old CAS Honda team, then bailed and was unable to fire up the CRF.

Moto two saw a win for Marc De Reuver delivering a debut win for his new Martin Honda team, ahead of a steady Josh Coppins, Steve Ramon, and Billy Mackenzie.

There’s almost always a price to pay, however as rumours suggest a broken rib for local youngster Ray Rowson.

There’s also talk of a hand injury to Jason Dougan, and Bryan Mackenzie was lucky to get away with a burst mouth after the front of his helmet was smashed.

Come the Grand Final, where the MX2 bikes have a ten second head start over MX1, Tommy Searle was ready to go.

The factory KTM star just ran off and hid, and even when the big guns made their way through the pack, Searle just kept it pinned and no-one could run him down.

Billy Mackenzie made second place in an astonishing six laps before a minor off hampered his efforts, but it was Steve Ramon and David Phillipaerts who eventually moved up and closed out the podium ahead of Billy Mackenzie.

Hawkstone International - MX1
1 Marc de Reuver - Honda
2 Steve Ramon - Suzuki
3 Josh Coppins - Yamaha
4 Ken de Dycker - Suzuki
5 David Phillipaerts - Yamaha

Hawkstone International - MX2
1 Tyla Rattray - KTM
2 Stephen Sword - Kawasaki
3 Erik Eggens - Suzuki

Grand Final
1 Tommy Searle MX2
2 Steve Ramon MX1
3 David Phillipaerts MX1
4 Billy Mackenzie MX1
5 Shaun Simpson MX2
6 Tyla Rattray MX2


Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)