Ad closing in seconds....

Dakar Stage 8 – Aprilia’s Francisco Lopez wins stage, Coma time penalty confirmed

Published: 11 January 2010

Updated: 24 November 2014

Aprilia mounted Francisco Lopez claimed his second stage win of the 2010 Dakar to move up to third in the overall standings.

Lopez won the grueling 472KM timed special by just 42 seconds from KTM man Marc Coma.

Despite Coma’s impressive ride he is currently down in 19th position after incurring a 6-hour penalty handed out a for illegal assistance on the 7th special where he used a new tyre.

Coma’s penalty ends any chance of victory and means that fellow KTM man Cyril Despres now has a commanding 1h 20m 31s lead over Norwegian Dakar veteran Pal anders Ullevalseter in second.

Craig Bounds finished 40th on the stage eight with another strong ride to climb to 56th overall.

Paul Carlyle is placed 77th with Irishman Phillip Noone in 87th and Yamaha mounted Tamsin Jones 93rd.

Stage 8 – Antofagasta to Copiapo
Sunday 10th January 2010
Connection 96KM
Special 472KM

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)