Cyril Despres wins the 2010 Dakar

1 of 3

KTM rider Cyril Despres is the winner of the 2010 Dakar.

The Frenchman finished 1hour 2min 52sec ahead of 2nd place finisher KTM rider Pal Anders Ullevalseter. Third went to Chilean rider Francisco "Chaleco" Lopez Contardo, riding for Aprilia.     

Commenting on his victory, Depres said: "All victories are nice but this one is particularly beautiful. It is the victory of hard work, of expertise and of an incredible team.

"There are 9 of us in the team and not one of us ever let go. We all wanted to win; we all wanted to fight hard and we won. It’s just fantastic. Of course there is a lot of emotion. We left Lac Rose three years ago in 2007. Since then we have had three tough years, three years of injuries, training, hard times. We can only be moved by this third victory.

"I am still human; I know I have been riding this bike for 15 days and I am exhausted but the little strength I had left just went in tears. KTM played a big part in this victory. They trusted us. We chose everyone. We have been working 24/7 for months. One thing is clear; I was not afraid of losing. I just wanted to win. And this will to win was stronger than the fear of losing.

"It was a tough Dakar, a beautiful Dakar and I am so glad I won".

Depres won 2 special stages over the course of the 2010 Dakar and has been leading the overall standings since stage 3. This is the Frenchman's 3rd Dakar victory, having previously won it in 2005 and again in 2007. 

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

James Keen

By James Keen