Dakar stage 14 - Faria wins stage, Depres wins Dakar

1 of 1

Portuguese rider Ruben Faria took his first win in the last stage of the 2010 Dakar, but it's fellow KTM rider Cyril Depres who claimed overall victory.

Second place in the final stage goes to another KTM rider - Norwegian Pal Anders Ullevalseter. Third was claimed by Portuguese rider, Helder Rodrigues, riding for Yamaha.

Faria said: "I am very happy. I did the Dakar to help Cyril Despres, so he would win. Last night, we were laughing and I told him that I was 1 minute shy of ranking 11th and he told me: "Tomorrow, drive faster; try to get this 11th place".

"So I did. And I won the stage. I am thrilled. And I am so happy that Cyril has won the Dakar."

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

James Keen

By James Keen