Ad closing in seconds....

Coma extends title lead with Sealine Rally win

Published: 25 April 2015

Updated: 25 April 2015

KTM Red Bull Factory Racing’s Marc Coma has extended his lead in the FIM Cross-Country Rally championship by taking the win in Qatar’s Sealine Rally. The six-time world champion held off Joan Barreda and Paolo Goncalves to win with nearly five minutes in hand.

With 1926.76km of hard riding and tough navigation across the desert, there was a high rate of attrition in the race, but Coma was able to ride a faultless race to hold off the Honda duo.

“We tried to be consistent and not make the slightest mistake because this rally is so intense it is impossible to recover if you make a mistake. It was a very hard fought win and the team did a great job. We started the year very well, and we are still on the right way. Now it is time to enjoy this beautiful moment and then begin to work ahead of the next race in Sardinia.”

Brit Sam Sunderland was sixth on the treacherous circuit, but maintains his second place in the title race behind his KTM teammate.

Final results Sealine Cross-Country Rally 2015

  1. Marc Coma                             KTM Red Bull Rally Factory 19:56'48
  2. Joan Barreda                         Team HRC                              + 4'40
  3. Paulo Goncalves                    Team HRC                              + 6'33
  4. Jordi Viladoms                       KTM Red Bull Rally Factory + 17'59
  5. Pablo Quintanilla                  KTM Warsaw Rally Team     + 18'00
  6. Sam Sunderland                   KTM Red Bull Rally Factory + 21'10
  7. Mathias Walkner                   KTM Red Bull Rally Factory + 1:40'18
  8. Armand Monleon                  KTM Warsaw Rally Team     + 2:42'33
  9. Jakub Piatek                          KTM Orlen Rally Team         + 3:55'00
  10. 10. Mohammed Albalooshi         KTM UAC                               + 4:00'21

FIM Cross-Country Rally championship after two rounds

  1. Marc Coma                             56
  2. Sam Sunderland       36                                    
  3. Pablo Quintanilla                  33
  4. Joan Barreda                         30
  5. Paulo Goncalves                    23
Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)