Team UK take Philip Island Classic win, Farquhar wins overall

1 of 3

Team UK have taken a visitors victory for the first time at the Philip Island Classic, with Ryan Farquhar and Conor Cummins coming out on top of the individual standings to secure the win for the visiting team over their Australian hosts.

Farquhar and Cummins were both consistent on the second day of racing, with neither of the former KMR Kawasaki teammates stepping on the podium at all. But with a high rate of attrition on the vintage machines, they were able to secure strong points scoring finishes in all races.

At the final chequered flag Farquhar took the overall victory from Cummins by only two points, with former MotoGP racer Jeremy McWilliams making it an all-UK podium in third.

That was enough to give the team a forty-two point lead over the Australians, despite the Aussies securing all six podium spots. In the first battle of the day, it was yesterday’s winner Shawn Giles who took victory from Brendan Roberts and former British Supersport frontrunner Paul Young, while in race two Jed Metcher took the win from Giles and Young.

For full coverage from the Philip Island Classic, see this Wednesday 28th January’s Motorcycle News.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer