Ad closing in seconds....

DTRA Championships round one - Brindley rocks Rye House

Published: 11 April 2016

Updated: 11 April 2016

Round one of the 2016 Maxxis UK National Flat Track Championships put on by the DTRA (Dirt Track Riders Association) took place at Rye House Speedway at the weekend. With the largest numbers of entrants to date, sunny dry weather and an amazing day of racing it produced a spectacular opening event.

The Pro Class A final saw old rivals Oliver Brindley, Aidan Collins and Alan Birtwistle line up next to each other on the front row. Collins, who won the DTRA series in 2015, got an amazing start as he led into turn one with Brindley and Birtwistle hot on his tail. With Brindley fighting hard it wasn’t long before the youngster made his move taking a dominating win. Collins rode well for second with Birtwistle third.

The Pro Class B final saw Les Wood get the holeshot. He was closely followed by a group that included Ross Herrod, Jamie Courtney and Tom Clemens. Unfortunately, Wood crashed ending his lead and ultimately his race. Herrod held strong for the win with Courtney second and Heavens third.

In the Restricted Class Matthew Moore, Rob Kingerly and Jon Bell were all scrapping it out into turn one. By the end of the first lap Kingerly held the lead with Sean Kelly moving through into second and Moore in third. 2015 season champion Kelly then took the lead and pulled away for the win. Behind, Mike Hill pushed hard on the last lap to move into second leaving Decombard to settle for third.

The Vintage Class promised to be special as Frank Chatokhine from France lined up against rival and 2015 champion Guy Sutherland. The Frenchman led into turn one with Sutherland hot on his tail and Peter Jordan third. Chatokhine rode a classy race to take the win with Sutherland second. Jordan lost out to Paul Harrison who took third

The Thunderbike final provided hot flat track action as Guy Sutherland, Ross Herrod and Mike Hill blasted into turn one together. By the end of lap one Herrod led the charge with Hill second and Sutherland third. Then Sean Vukovic came charging through passing both Sutherland and Hill moving into second. Vukovic then made the jump on Herrod to move into the lead for the win. Herrod held strong for second with Hill third.

 The Rookie Class was bigger than ever with lots of new racers joining the DTRA family for the season. A race restart following an early crash saw Fred Roubaut move into the lead once again with Ross Sharp, Tim Aucott and Louis Breton all chasing hard. Sharp chased hard getting a little loose at times but made the pass to move into the lead and take the win. Roubaut rode well for second with Breton third. 

In the Minibike class Geoff Cain took the win with Justin Heavens second and Adam Waller third. In the Youth Senior class Joe Burden dominated the heats and took first in the final for the win. Jack Bell held second all day with Kier Armstrong taking third. Ted Williamson showed lots of potential wining the Youth Junior class. 

Keep up to date with the latest from the championships in the the new issue of the DTRA online magazine 

The next round of the Flat Track Championships takes place at the MCN Festival of Motorcycling on May 14-15. Save £££s by booking in advance - prices start from just £15, so come for the day, or camp for the whole weekend.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)