Is Jonathan Rea your MCN Rider of the Year 2019?

Rea wins fifth WSB title
Rea wins fifth WSB title

Voting for the MCN Rider of the Year 2019 is now open. We’ve already revealed our shortlist and now we need your help to crown the winner. Today we focus on the five-time World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea.

Jonathan Rea

Jonathan Rea made history in 2019 by becoming the first rider to win the WSB title on five occasions. Not only that, but this year’s triumph was his fifth consecutive crown. The Kawasaki rider didn’t have it all his own way though.

Alvaro Bautista made a flying start to life in WSB. The former MotoGP star won the opening 11 races onboard the new Ducati V4. However, Rea’s fightback began at Imola and as he continued to pick up win after win, Bautista would fall under the pressure. 

Rea overturned a 61-point deficit to win the title by 165 points, a swing of 226 in just 19 races. Consistency was the key during those opening rounds, but once the first win came there was no looking back for Rea and Kawasaki. Rea will now be looking for his sixth WSB crown in 2020. 

Vote now if you want Jonathan Rea to become MCN Rider of the Year 2019.

More from MCN