Oulton Park British Superbikes: Ian Hutchinson wins British Supersport race

1 of 1

Ian Hutchinson has convincingly won the British Supersport race at Oulton Park this afternoon by more than four seconds ahead of HM Plant Honda’s John McGuinness.

Hutchinson took the lead from the start of the race making up two places from his starting place on the grid with McGuinness slotting on to second from the start.

In third place was Jamie Robinson who climbed in to the final podium slot on lap 13.

Suzuki’s Michael Laverty did better than brother Eugene in the 250 MotoGP race as he finished contended hard for third place and finished in fourth. 

It was a case of who could stay on by the end as many riders struggled to get to grips on the wet track. A total of nine riders fell off during the 14 lap race.

British Supersport race results:

1. Ian Hutchinson Honda
2. John McGuinness Honda
3. Jamie Robinson Honda
4. Michael Laverty Suzuki
5. Billy McConnell Yamaha
6. Aaron Walker Honda
7. James Westmorland Honda
8. Daniel Cooper Honda
9. Dennis Hobbs Honda
10. Joe Dickinson Honda
11. Ian Lowry Suzuki
12. Craig Fitzpatrick Yamaha
13. Alan O’Connor Honda
14. Gary Johnson Kawasaki
15. Grahame Frear Honda
16. Alex Camier Kawasaki
17. Matt Layt Yaamaha
18. Ben Wylie Yamaha
19. Ben Handley Honda
20. Christian Elkin Honda
21. Craig Sproston Honda
22. Glynn Thomas Honda
23. Ross Walter Triumph
24. Tye Kinton Honda

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell