British Superbikes: Rizla Suzuki sign up female racer for Race of the Year

1 of 1

Jenny Tinmouth’s debut on the Rizla Suzuki superbike is bound to be a major talking point at this year’s Mallory Park Race of the Year, the end of the season non-championship superbike showdown on October 21, 2007.

Jenny Tinmouth recently tested the GSX-R1000 at Mallory Park and clocked some impressive lap times first time out on a British Superbike. She joins Rizla Suzuki regular teamster Cal Crutchlow for a one off-ride on the full race Suzuki Superbike.

But Jenny Tinmouth will be up against some very stiff opposition in the feature race, not only from team-mate Cal Crutchlow, but from a host of other top riders.

Virgin Media Optoma Loans Yamaha team will field two machines; one for Isle of Man TT hero John McGuinness and the other for Billy McConnell.

Hawk Colchester Kawasaki will also run their two superbikes for their regular British Superbike Championship pairing ofJames Haydon and Scott Smart.

Buildbase Ducati Coventry, the locally-based British Championship team will field a bike for John Laverty and it is hoped that a second may be available for Aussie Brendan Roberts.

The team will also display the Loris Capirossi Grand Prix winning Ducati, which, subject to the weather conditions, will also take part in some demonstration laps.

MSS Discovery Kawasaki will field up-and-coming James Webb on the British Superbike ZX-10 which Michael Rutter has raced this year.

James Webb has this year been a front runner in the Virgin Media Cup but joined the MSS team this year to race the ZX-6 in supersport, replacing injured Stuart Easton.

Astro Van Centre has entered two British Superstock Kawasakis for Dean Johnson and Kenny Gilbertson.

The Race of the Year meeting also hosts the final round of the British Sidecar Championship which takes place over two races and includes ‘The Steve Webster Trophy’. 

Newly-crowned World and British Sidecar Champions Tim Reeves and Pat Farrence will be looking to maintain their unbeaten run in the eight previous races.

Their opposition will come from team mates Sean and Mark Hegarty, Gary and Dan Knight, Brian Peddar and Rod Steadman, Danny Morrisey and Phil Biggs plus many more of Britain’s top sidecar race crews.

Mallory Park is set in the Leicestershire countryside just seven miles from Hinckley and the M69, nine miles from Leicester and the M1 and the M42 is just a few miles away.

The outright 1.39 mile circuit lap record is held by Chris Walker on a Rizla Suzuki in a time of 51.506 seconds 97.154 mph.

Practice starts at 9.30am with racing from 1pm.

For more details call 01455 842931.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Gary Pinchin

By Gary Pinchin