British Superbikes: Gregorio Lavilla takes the double with race two win

1 of 1

Gregorio Lavilla took victory in race two at the Brands Hatch Indy circuit, making it a double win at the final round of the 2007 British Superbike championship.

It was an action-packed season closer, with HM Plant Honda duo Jonathan Rea and Ruichi Kiyonari getting away first, with Kiyonari modelling a new gold helmet to celebrate his championship claimed in race one. Chasing the leading pair were Stobart Honda's Shane Byrne and Tom Sykes, and Rizla Suzuki's Cal Crutchlow.

The race was red flagged on lap six after James Buckingham's Honda blew on the entry to Paddock Hill bend, leaving oil on the track and causing him to crash. The oil slick also claimed Kenny Gilbertson despite the safety car being brought out, at which point the race was stopped to allow the track to be cleaned.

For the third time it was Rea and Kiyonari making the break, with Gregoria Lavilla working his way up into the lead. Shane Byrne crashed out at Paddock Hill bend on lap 13, but was able to walk away.

The final positions saw Lavilla take the win from Jonathan Rea, with Rizla Suzuki's Cal Crutchlow taking third and his first podium spot.

British Superbikes. Brands Hatch Indy circuit. Race two:

1. Gregorio Lavilla.

2. Jonathan Rea.

3. Cal Crutchlow.

4. Ryuichi Kiyonari.

5. Leon Haslam.

6. Chris Walker.

7. Tom Sykes.

8. Karl Harris.

9. James Haydon.

10. Michael Rutter.

Want to relive the 2007 British Superbike season? You can now pre-order the book or DVD official season review at Grand Prix Legends. Click here.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk