British Superbikes: Ryuichi Kiyonari is 2007 British Superbike champion with Brands Hatch podium

1 of 1

Ryuichi Kiyonari has claimed the 2007 British Superbike championship in race one at the Brands Hatch round, sealing the title with a third place.

The race win actually went to former champion Gregorio Lavilla on the Airwaves Ducati, followed in second by HM Plant Honda rider and Kiyonari's team-mate Jonathan Rea. The start had seen the HM Plant duo of Rea and Kiyonari lead from the start, with Kiyonari moving up from the second row of the grid, with Stobart Honda's Tom Sykes and Airwaves Ducati riders Gregorio Lavilla and Leon Haslam in close attendance.

Gregorio Lavilla had moved past Sykes and into third place before Sykes lost the rear of his Stobart Honda, which burst into flames as it slid along the track. The rider was unhurt, as was Martin Jessop who crashed while the safety car was on track. Other riders failing to finish were the Hydrex Hondas of Karl Harris and Aaron Zanotti.

As the safety car pulled in Lavilla began to work his way to the front, passing Kiyonari and reeling in leader Jonathan Rea. Taking fourth was Leon Haslam, followed by Cal Crutchlow on the Rizla Suzuki.

British Superbikes: Brands Hatch Indy Circuit Race One

1. Gregorio Lavilla.

2. Jonathan Rea.

3. Ryuichi Kiyonari.

4. Leon Haslam.

5. Cal Crutchlow.

6. Shane Byrne.

7. Chris Walker.

8. Michael Rutter.

9. Simon Andrews.

10. Steve Plater.


Want to relive the 2007 British Superbike season? You can pre-order the offical season review in book or DVD format, from Grand Prix Legends, here.


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk