Ad closing in seconds....

British Superbikes: Shane Byrne wins Thruxton race one

Published: 20 April 2008

Updated: 24 November 2014

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne has transferred his awesome pre-season testing and Brands Hatch form into the first win of the year at Thruxton with a faultless race display.

Byrne, who headed off pole position, was led into turn one by the HM Plant pairing and fellow Ducati front row starter Michael Rutter.

The man on the move on the first lap was Karl Harris who went passed both Rutter and Byrne, only to have to retire at the end of lap two with a mechanical fault.

Adam Jenkinson proved his qualifying position of seventh was no fluke, hanging onto the back of the front four until the engine blew on lap eight.

Behind the front group a titanic battle went on with Tom Sykes, James Ellison and Michael Laverty.

Up front the lead changed for the first time since turn one with Shakey passing Crutchlow at the first chicane.

Crutchlow attempted to make a pass back at Church on the same lap, but just couldn’t push passed the Airwaves rider.

Further back, Byrne’s team-mate slotted passed Sykes for fifth at Church, while up ahead Michael Rutter passed Haslam for the final podium position with just two laps remaining.


1. Shane Byrne
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Michael Rutter
4. Leon Haslam
5. Leon Camier
6. Tom Sykes
7. James Ellison
8. Simon Andrews
9. Stuart Easton
10. Michael Laverty
11. Sean Emmett
12. John Laverty (Cup)
13. Tristan Palmer
14. Billy McConnell
15. Guy Martin
16. Scott Smart


Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)