KTM announce RC8 series rules

1 of 1

KTM has now announced the full rules package for the 2009 RC8 Cup, which will run at BSB meetings and replaces the highly-successful Superduke series that ran for two seasons.

KTM’s Event Manager Richard Ellis said: “The new series has been created to make it even easier and more cost effective to race at some of the best tracks in the UK on one of the sharpest Superbikes out there.”
Here are the regulations to whet the appetite…

All machines will be 1190 RC8 models and will come in standard road trim with a race kit. Bikes will be available from February and must be purchased via an authorised KTM Street dealer. 

The following items will be provided with the bike:
• Complete KTM race bodywork
• Akrapovic exhaust headers
• Akrapovic race silencer
• GB Racing clutch and generator covers
• Sponsor decal kit and race number decal kit
• Marchesini spare wheel kit (front and rear including discs).

The price of the bike including the above “Ready to Race” kit is £10,995 including VAT. Privateer riders who are not supported by a KTM dealer must pay for their bike in full before collecting the bike and their entry can be confirmed.  

The tyre supplier will be announced shortly but I can confirm that it will be one of the main BSB suppliers and the product will be fantastic. A maximum of 2 sets of dry tyres per round can be used (3 sets per double header round). A complete race service will be available at all rounds from the agreed supplier. Accounts can be set up with the supplier before the season starts; tyres can be pre-ordered or purchased from stock at the races.

This series is all about genuine racing talent and cost effective racing, therefore, limited modifications to the bikes will be permitted. Full Technical Regulations will be available in January. If you have any questions in the meantime, do not hesitate to contact myself.

The Super Cup is a full BSB support race with 14 rounds including 5 double headers. The provisional race calendar is as follows:

Round 1/2 Brands Hatch (Indy)   April 11-13
Round 3/4     Donington Park         May 23-25
Round 5        Thruxton                  May 29-31
Round 6/7     Snetterton               June 19-21
Round 8/9     Knockhill    July 3-5
Round 10       Brands Hatch (GP)   Aug 7-9 
Round 11  Cadwell Park            Aug 29-31
Round 12/13  Silverstone               Sep 25-27
Round 14  Oulton Park              Oct 9-11.

All riders/teams are responsible for their own machines, this includes maintenance and spare parts including crash damage. A spare parts service will be provided at each round. In order to use this system you will need to set up an account with the service provider before the series starts. All riders must register with the service provider before the season starts, no parts will be supplied unless this has been done.

All machines must run on the official BSB control fuel at each round. Riders will obtain all fuel from the licensed service provider on site at each race venue.

Prize money will be awarded to the top 5 riders in every race and there will also be tyre prizes for the top three riders in every race. First place in the Championship will win a KTM 1190 RC8, second place will win a KTM Motocross or Enduro model of their choice and third place will win a KTM 50 SX Minibike. 

There will be a Junior Championship within the main Championship. Prize money will be awarded to the top three riders in every race. The overall Under 25 Champion will win a KTM Motocross or Enduro model of their choice.  
Riders must be 17 years of age and hold a Clubman license (not restricted) or above to compete in the series.

Places on the grid are limited (KTM already have over 80 interested riders and recommend riders confirm their entry as soon as possible). Places will be offered on a first come, first served basis. For more information please contact Richard Ellis by telephone – 01280 709501 or by email – richard.ellis@ktm.co.uk

Gary Pinchin

By Gary Pinchin