Cadwell Park BSB: Camier takes 15th race win

1 of 1

Leon Camier took his fifth win in a row and his 15th of the season when he dominated the opening British Superbike race at Cadwell Park on Monday.

Second off the line, Camier trailed early leader Stuart Easton for the first few laps before hitting the front for the first time on lap 4 and from there he was never headed.

Lapping half a second a lap quicker than the rest of the field, his lead was over six seconds at two thirds race distance and he eventually crossed the line at the end of the 18 laps, 7.384 seconds clear.

Behind, a battle royale waged between Easton, James Ellison, Simon Andrews and Ian Lowry. Easton grabbed the hoelshot from his second row start and although Camier moved by, he was able to utilize the top speed advantage of his Hydrex Honda and keep the rest at bay.

Andrews slipped back slightly as the race progressed, mainly due to his wrist injury still causing him some discomfort, but the other three went toe to toe all the way to the end.

Despite their best efforts though, neither Ellison nor Lowry were able to make a move and they had to settle for third and fourth respectively at the chequered flag, the last named gaining his best ever BSB result and moving into 4th overall in the table, a superb effort in his rookie season.

Andrews dropped back into the clutches of his MSS Colchester Kawasaki teammate Julien da Costa and the Frenchman looked like he had fifth sewn up once he’d moved by Andrews on the 15th lap.

However, the Englishman had other ideas and he found a way by da Costa in the woods section on the final lap to claim the 11 Championship points.

Karl Muggeridge came through the pack well from his lowly qualifying position to take seventh for the HM Plant Honda whilst Sylvain Guintoli was able to claim eighth in his comeback ride.

However, the Worx Crescent Suzuki rider looked like he could have claimed a top six position in the early stages but on the sixth lap he hit bike trouble and dropped back to tenth.

The bike came to life again and he regrouped for eighth with John Laverty suffering a similar misfortune on the Buildbase Kawasaki.

Second in qualifying, the Northern Ireland rider dropped back to fifth at the end of the opening lap before sliding even further back as the race wore on. He battled back for ninth with Gary Mason riding strongly into tenth, once again the lead privateer.

1 Leon Camier (Airwaves Yamaha) 1m28.047s
2 Stuart Easton (Hydrex Honda) +7.384s
3 James Ellison (Airwaves Yamaha) +7.651s
4 Ian Lowry (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) +8.133s
5 Simon Andrews (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +17.793s
6 Julien da Costa (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +18.126s
7 Karl Muggeridge (HM Plant Honda) +25.398s
8 Sylvain Guintoli (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +25.522s
9 John Laverty (Buildbase Kawasaki) +25.979s
10 Gary Mason (Quay Garage Honda) +28.760s

Phil Wain

By Phil Wain