BSB Mallory Park : Qualifying results

1 of 1

Leon Camier extended his run of British Superbike pole positions to five when he again took first place in this afternoon’s qualifying session at Mallory Park. The 22-year old overcame engine problems in free practice to post a time of 56.016s as he got the better of Tommy Hill by just under two tenths of a second.

“It’s been a tough weekend with all the engine problems and this was the first full session I got on the race bike so to get pole just shows how hard everyone is working,” said Camier.

A major oil spill in the preceding Triumph Triple Challenge practice session meant there was a 35-minute delay to proceedings and when it did finally get underway, stationary yellow flags were on display from the exit of the Esses up to the hairpin for the first ten minutes of Q1.

However, the offending problem soon disappeared and the line into the hairpin wasn’t compromised allowing a clean, trouble free session to take place. Hill occupied the top spot for much of the final session but Camier’s flying lap in the latter third of the ten-minute session bumped him down to second although it was still a fine effort for Hill, who is having his first outing in BSB since 2007.

A late charge by Chris Walker saw him jump up to third, his best qualifying position of the year, whilst a tremendous showing by privateer Richard Cooper moved him up to the front row of the grid to give the local crowd even more reasons to be cheerful. John Laverty, the best of the Kawasaki runners on this occasion, will lead the second row where he will be joined by Simon Andrews, James Ellison and Karl Harris.

Graeme Gowland and Stuart Easton rounded out the top ten but it was a disastrous afternoon for HM Plant Honda with Steve Brogan being eliminated after the first session when his front tyre deflated and then Josh Brookes getting knocked out after the second. The duo will line up in 23rd and 17th respectively and with a lot of work to do in tomorrow’s two 30-lap races.

1 Leon Camier (Airwaves Yamaha) – 56.016s
2 Tommy Hill (Worx Crescent Suzuki) – 56.195s
3 Chris Walker (Henderson/Motorpoint Yamaha) – 56.221s
4 Richard Cooper (Co-ordit Yamaha) – 56.345s
5 John Laverty (Buildbase Kawasaki) – 56.379s
6 Simon Andrews (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) – 56.489s
7 James Ellison (Airwaves Yamaha) – 56.547s
8 Karl Harris (Hydrex Honda) – 56.605s
9 Graeme Gowland (Henderson/Motorpoint Yamaha) – 56.642s
10 Stuart Easton (Hydrex Honda) – 56.642s

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Phil Wain

By Phil Wain