Silverstone BSB: Laverty takes pole

1 of 1

Swan Yamaha rider Michael Laverty will start the third race of the showdown from pole position tomorrow after both HM Plant title hopefuls failed to qualify for the final qualifying session.

Current championship leader John Hopkins set the second fastest time, with Relentless by TAS Suzuki rider Josh Brookes in third. Rapid Solicitor Bantham's Ducati rider Michael Rutter takes the final place on the front row.

HM Plant Honda rider's and title hopefuls Shane Byrne and Ryuichi Kiyonari start from 13th and 16th respectively after struggling with chatter problems.

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill was unable to match the pace of his team-mate and will start tomorrow's first race from fifth, ahead of John Kirkham, Martin Jessopp and Peter Hickman.

    Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 2m:05.056s
    John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) +0.077s
    Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +0.455s
    Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +0.475s
    Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +0.588s
    Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) +1.168s
    Martin Jessopp (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +1.169s
    Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +1.305s
    Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +1.452s
    Dan Linfoot (Tyco Honda) +1.679s

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer