Francis lifts Pinhard Trophy

1 of 1

Monster Energy British Motostar 2013 champion Joe Francis has been awarded the illustrious Pinhard Trophy, the Sunbeam Motorcycle Club’s annual award for the best under-21 competing under ACU jurisdiction.

The Chester rider, who added the British title to his eight previous championships at only 16, was awarded the trophy by a committee of experts from Sunbeam MCC, the ACU and the industry, including MCN’s editor Andy Calton.

With voting close, Francis took the judges’ decision from enduro rider Brad Freeman and flat track racer Zach Wajtknecht, and will receive the giant three gallon trophy at the ACU’s annual awards on 25th January.

He joins an illustrious list of circuit racers to have lifted the traditionally offroad-dominated trophy, including John Surtees, Mike Hailwood, and, in more recent years, Scott Redding and Bradley Smith.

After the announcement, Francis said: “I am very proud to be chosen to receive the Pinhard Trophy; it’s an honour and a privilege to have my name alongside such great British riders.  Thank you very much to everyone for giving me this award; it’s the perfect end to a perfect season. Thank you again for such a great award – I can’t believe it!”

Simon Patterson

By Simon Patterson

MotoGP and road racing reporter, photographer, videographer