BSB: Byrne continues Thruxton domination with Superpole win

1 of 1

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne will start tomorrow’s first MCE British Superbike race from pole position after decimating his rivals throughout the weekend at Thruxton.

Topping every session so far this weekend from first free practice through to Superpole, Byrne has twice obliterated the fastest ever two wheeled lap around Thruxton, culminating with an impressive 1’13.843 in Q2. 

While he was unable to beat that on his single flier in Superpole, his 1’14.315 was enough to hold off the Bennetts Suzuki of Tommy Bridewell by 0.275 seconds to take his third pole of the season.

Dan Linfoot completes the front row for Honda Racing, ahead of Luke Mossey who heads up row two for Quattro Plant Tec-Care Kawasaki.

Michael Laverty starts fifth on the Tyco BMW with Lee Jackson continuing an impressive weekend to round out the top six.


Billy McConnell will head off seventh ahead of Alastair Seeley, who narrowly outplaced team-mate Jake Dixon for eighth.

JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s tough weekend continued with not one of their three riders making it through to the one-lap Superpole session. Peter Hickman took the team’s best result in tenth, while Leon Haslam and James Ellison will start tomorrow’s first race in 15th and 23rd respectively. 

Glenn Irwin was an early faller when he tucked the front in Q1, ruling out any chance of him progressing further as he’s forced to line-up in 24th place. 


Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN's Bikes For Sale App.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing