BSB: 2017 grid so far!

1 of 1

With a flurry of team announcements at this year’s Motorcycle Live Show in Birmingham, the 2017 MCE British Superbike grid is starting to take shape and it looks set to be star-studded year. 

Reigning champion Shane Byrne will be out to defend his title after signing a two-year deal with the Be Wiser Ducati team, while Leon Haslam will once again be out to stop him after signing an agreement with Kawasaki UK to race for the newly JG Speedfit-backed Bournemouth Kawasaki team.

However, it might not be a two man show in 2017 after today’s news that 2014 World Superbike Champion will make a return to the series aboard Suzuki’s new GSX-R1000.

The Frenchman isn’t the only face returning from the world stage either, with Italian Davide Giugliano making the move after losing his ride in the factory Ducati team to the out-of-retirement Marco Melandri. Unable to secure a ride on the world stage, Giugliano opted to move to Britain in an attempt to reignite his racing career. He’ll join Christian Iddon in the Tyco BMW team.

Haslam will be joined at JG Speedfit Kawasaki by young gun Luke Mossey, while Glenn Irwin will get another shot alongside Byrne in the PBM Ducati team.

Hawk Racing are yet to announce who’ll partner Guintoli at Bennetts Suzuki, but smart money is on 2016 Superstock 1000 Champion Taylor Mackenzie who has already signed a deal with the team.

However, MCN understands the Mallory-based squad could be holding out for a signature from Tommy Bridewell, which would mean Mackenzie is left to defend his title in the Superstock class next year. Lincolnshire youngster Lee Jackson is also expected to remain involved with Hawk, but it could be in a satellite Suzuki effort in Buildbase colours. Should Bridewell not join Guintoli, he could be set to join the Smiths BMW team.


James Ellison and Michael Laverty will head up the new McAMS Yamaha squad, which is Keith Flint’s Traction Ctrl outfit with backing from the big wigs at Yamaha Europe while Dan Linfoot and Jason O’Halloran will remain with the Honda Racing team.

2015 BSB champ Josh Brookes was super keen to return to the series next year after a tough season with Milwaukee BMW on the world stage, however after a number of deals fell through, including an attractive prospect to ride for the recently departed Halsall Racing team, the Aussie could be left without a ride in Britain next year.

Also without a ride at present is twice race winner in 2016 Peter Hickman, who seems to have been hit the hardest by GBmoto Kawasaki’s withdrawal from the series. The budding road racing star had a number of offers for strong roads rides, but none of them came with the BSB ride necessary to convince him to put pen to paper.

2017 Grid so far!

Be Wiser PBM Ducati: Shane Byrne & Glenn Irwin
JG Speedfit Kawasaki: Leon Haslam & Luke Mossey
Honda Racing: Jason O’Halloran & Dan Linfoot
Tyco BMW: Davide Giugliano & Christian Iddon 
McAMS Yamaha: James Ellison & Michael Laverty 
Bennetts Suzuki: Sylvain Guintoli & ??????? 
Quattro Plant FS3 Kawasaki: Billy McConnell
RAF Reserves/Briggs BMW: Jake Dixon 
Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha: Shaun Winfield 

Looking for the perfect two-wheeled companion? Visit MCN Bikes For Sale website or use MCN’s Bikes For Sale App.

Oli Rushby

By Oli Rushby

Former sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing