BSB: 2022 entry list confirmed

The 2022 BSB grid is now complete
The 2022 BSB grid is now complete

The 2022 Bennetts British Superbike Championship provisional entry list has been released by series promoter and organiser MSVR.

The final piece of the 2022 puzzle was put into place earlier on today (March 4) when Paul Bird Motorsport confirmed that 2013 World Superbike champion Tom Sykes would be joining the team. Sykes will race alongside Josh Brookes at the rebranded MCE Ducati team.

Related articles on MCN

Tarran Mackenzie will lead the field as the reigning champion, and the McAMS Yamaha rider will be running the coveted number one plate. Mackenzie is currently recovering from an ankle injury sustained whilst training in Spain. Teammate and rival Jason O’Halloran also remains at Yamaha and will be more determined than ever after losing out to Mackenzie in last year’s Showdown.

Elsewhere, Leon Haslam also makes his return after spending three seasons in the world championship. Haslam joins forces with Lee Hardy at the newly named VisionTrack Kawasaki team. Haslam will be the team’s sole rider.

Chrstian Iddon has joined Buildbase Suzuki following his departure from PBM, and will race alongside Danny Kent. The latter remains with the team for a second campaign, after missing the majority of 2021 through injury. 

2021 runner-up Tommy Bridewell remains with Oxford Products Racing Ducati, whilst SYNETIQ BMW remain unchanged with Danny Buchan and Andrew Irwin. Honda Racing UK will run four riders, with Tom Neave moving into the premier class alongside Glenn Irwin, Takumi Takahashi, and Ryo Mizuno.

Peter Hickman remains at FHO Racing BMW, but will be joined by new teammate Ryan Vickers, who switches from Lee Hardy Racing. Rory Skinner and Lee Jackson also stay put at FS-3 Racing Kawasaki.

The full 2022 entry list can be seen below:

2022 BSB Entry List

The first official test for the 2022 BSB season takes place at Snetterton on March 26-27 and will be followed by further tests at Donington Park (March 31), Silverstone (April 6-7), and Oulton Park (April 21).

Round one of the 2022 season takes place at Silverstone on April 15-17.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Josh Close

By Josh Close

Sports Reporter and fan of all things motorsport.