Ad closing in seconds....

Gibernau takes third win

Published: 24 June 2003

Updated: 24 November 2014

Sete Gibernau has taken his third MotoGP win this season at the third round of the world championship in Assen.

The race was delayed by rain and the standing water made visibility difficult when it did get under way.

Gibernau held the lead throughout the race but had to work hard to break away from the two Hondas of Max Biaggi and Valentino Rossi, eventually finishing over 10 seconds ahead of the Biaggi.

Troy Bayliss was looking to take third place but went in too hot in an attempt to take Rossi, running wide in to the gravel trap and finishing the race in ninth.

The Yamahas of Carlos Checa and Olivier Jacque took fourth and fifth followed by Ducati’s Loris Capirossi, who started the race on pole.

Colin Edwards took seventh on the Alice Aprilia with Alex Barros nine seconds behind in eighth, but Edwards team-mate Noriyuki Haga highsided two laps before the end of the race.


1) Sete Gibernau 42:39.006, 2) Max Biaggi 42:49.117, 3) Valentino Rossi 42:52.881, 4) Carlos Checa 43:15.984, 5) Olivier Jacque 43:19.351, 6) Loris Capirossi 43:21.183, 7) Colin Edwards 43:29.524, 8) Alex Barros 43:38.029, 9) Troy Bayliss 44:12.542, 10) Alex Hofmann 44:15.409, 11) Nicky Hayden 44:18.039, 12) Tohru Ukawa 44:21.404, 13) Shinya Nakano 44:22.696, 14) Andrew Pitt 43:44.761, 15) John Hopkins 43:48.247, 16) Makoto Tamada 43:55.348, 17) Ryuichi Kiyonari 43:58.430, 18) Garry McCoy 44:51.345, Noriyuki Haga DNF, Yukio Kagayama DNF, Marco Melandri DNF, Nobuatsu Aoki DNF, Jeremy McWilliams DNF.

To comment on this story click the link on the right to go to our GP discussion board.

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)