Honda confirms GP riders

1 of 1

Honda has finally confirmed that Max Biaggi will head the factory Repsol Honda MotoGP team alongside Nicky Hayden.

Biaggi is currently recovering from a broken ankle which he sustained in a fall during a supermoto race. He’ll head the firm’s attempt to stop Valentino Rossi from claiming a second successive title for Yamaha.

The statement confirms:

“In the MotoGP class of the FIM 2005 Road Race Championship Series, Honda plans to race seven 2005 model Honda RC211Vs, with the aim of capturing a double title in both the rider’s and manufacturer’s categories. The RC211V has undergone further refinements as it enters its fourth season of racing.

“In the 250cc class Honda will field six bikes and three teams, and has nominated Yuki Takahashi, last year’s Japanese GP250 class champion, as the second recipient of the Honda Racing Scolarship, established last year. Last year’s recipient was Hiroshi Aoyama.”

MotoGP class

Repsol Honda Team:

3. Max Biaggi

69. Nicky Hayden

Team Telefonica Movistar Honda:

15. Sete Gibernau

33. Marco Melandri

Camel Honda:

4. Alex Barros

12. Troy Bayliss

Konica Minolta Honda Team:

6. Makoto Tamada

250cc Class:

Team Telefonica Movistar Honda 250cc:

1. Daniel Pedrosa

73. Hiroshi Aoyama.

Team Scot:

34. Andrea Dovizioso

55. Yuki Takahashi.

Team Fortuna Honda:

80. Hector Barbera

48. Jorge Lorenzo.

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff