Capirossi fastest in Jerez

1 of 1

Ducati riders Loris Capirossi and Sete Gibernau dominated the final day of testing before the start of the MotoGP season, taking the two fastest times of the test.

The two Ducati riders were the only people to drop below the 1:40 mark in the three day test, proving that they will be a force to contend with in the coming season.
Play MCN’s Fantasy Road Race game for just £5
Shinya Nakano put in another strong performance to end the day in third but finished 0.3 seconds down on his session topping time from Saturday.

250cc world champion Dani Pedrosa took the fourth fastest time, with Nakano’s team-mate and MotoGP rookie Randy de Puniet finished over a second down in fifth.

Honda rider Nicky Hayden finished the day in sixth followed by Colin Edwards, Toni Elias and Chris Vermeulen.

Reigning MotoGP World Champion Valentino Rossi was the Surprise of the session , finishing in a lowly 10th place over a second and a half down on Capirossi after the return of the chatter problem that has dogged him in previous tests.

MCN and owner bike reviews >>HERE<<


Need kit? 1600 items reviewed here
“Yesterday I was confident that we could find some big improvements today but honestly that hasn’t happened and now I am quite worried. The vibration has remained and at the moment we don’t know how to solve it. At the moment I am not sure what will happen in the race, we’ll have to wait and see.”

There is now a two week break before the first race of the season on March 26.

Unofficial times:

Loris Capirossi (ITA) Ducati Marlboro Team, 1:39.411

Sete Gibernau (SPA) Ducati Marlboro Team, 1:39.663

Shinya Nakano (JPN) Kawasaki Racing Team, 1:39.776

Dani Pedrosa (SPA) Repsol Honda Team, 1:40.416

Randy de Puniet (FRA) Kawasaki Racing Team, 1:40.468

Nicky Hayden (USA) Repsol Honda Team, 1:40.570

Colin Edwards (USA) Camel Yamaha Team, 1:40.721

Toni Elias (SPA) Fortuna Honda, 1:40.732

Chris Vermeulen (AUS) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP, 1:40.750

Valentino Rossi (ITA) Camel Yamaha Team, 1:40.907

Carlos Checa (SPA) Tech 3 Yamaha, 1:41.134

Marco Melandri (ITA) Fortuna Honda, 1:41.208

John Hopkins (USA) Rizla Suzuki MotoGP, 1:41.208

Makoto Tamada (JPN) Konica Minolta Honda, 1:41.380

Kenny Roberts (USA) Team Roberts, 1:41.673

Jose Luis Cardoso (SPA) D:Antin Pramac, 1:41.761

Alex Hofmann (GER) D:Antin Pramac, 1:42.034

James Ellison (GBR) Tech 3 Yamaha, 1:42.686

Vittoriano Guareschi (ITA) Ducati, 1:42.759

Tadayuki Okada (JPN) HRC, 1:43.513

MCN Staff

By MCN Staff