Brno MotoGP: Lukas Pesek takes provisional 125 pole at home GP

Published: 17 August 2007

Lukas Pesek has taken provisional pole position for his home MotoGP in Brno after going quickest in the first 125 qualifying session this afternoon. 

The Derbi rider was up the top of the timesheets for most of the session but left it until the dying seconds to post his best of 2:08.300 and take the top spot. This was just 0.029secs of his quickest time this morning.

Austrian rider Michael Ranseder was an early leader in the session with a 2:10.935 but free practice leader Gabor Talmacsi jumped to the top with a 2:08.760 after 10 minutes.

Lukas Pesek was back at the top of the timesheets after 20 minutes with an improved 2:08.611 before Mattia Pasini put in a 2:08.537 on his Aprilia.

Going in to the last five minutes it was down to Pesek and Talmacsi to battle it out at the top with the Derbi man coming out on top and Hungary’s Talmacsi finishing up in provisional second.

Britain’s Bradley Smith improved from 32nd to finish the session 14th with a best time of 2:10.291. He managed to knock two seconds off his best time from this morning’s free practice.

Meanwhile fellow Honda rider Daniel Webb finished in 29th with a best of 2:12.300. This was one and a half seconds quicker the first session.

Brno MotoGP 125 qualifying practice one results:

1 Lukas PESEK CZE DERBI 2'08.201
3 Mattia PASINI ITA APRILIA 2'08.379
4 Hector FAUBEL SPA APRILIA 2'08.425
5 Sandro CORTESE GER APRILIA 2'08.658
6 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN KTM 2'08.994
7 Sergio GADEA SPA APRILIA 2'09.019
10 Simone CORSI ITA APRILIA 2'09.649
11 Michael RANSEDER AUT DERBI 2'09.904
12 Pablo NIETO SPA APRILIA 2'09.950
13 Esteve RABAT SPA HONDA 2'10.258
14 Bradley SMITH GBR HONDA 2'10.291
15 Alexis MASBOU FRA HONDA 2'10.409
16 Federico SANDI ITA APRILIA 2'10.457
17 Robert MURESAN ROU DERBI 2'10.459
18 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA HONDA 2'10.494
19 Stefano BIANCO ITA APRILIA 2'10.712
20 Steve BONSEY USA KTM 2'11.002
21 Andrea IANNONE ITA APRILIA 2'11.144
22 Roberto TAMBURINI ITA APRILIA 2'11.166
23 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA APRILIA 2'11.269
24 Joan OLIVE SPA APRILIA 2'11.427
25 Ricard CARDUS SPA APRILIA 2'11.676
26 Joey LITJENS NED HONDA 2'11.815
28 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA APRILIA 2'12.004
29 Daniel WEBB GBR HONDA 2'12.300
30 Nicolas TEROL SPA DERBI 2'12.412
31 Dino LOMBARDI ITA HONDA 2'12.631
32 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA APRILIA 2'12.642
33 Toni WIRSING GER HONDA 2'13.166
34 Dominique AEGERTER SWI APRILIA 2'13.654
35 Michal PRASEK CZE HONDA 2'15.026
36 Karel MAJEK CZE FGR 2'15.453
 Not qualified (Out 107%) CZE APRILIA 2'17.175
 Karel PESEK  2'18.706