Dutch MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo extends championship lead with Assen win

1 of 1

Jorge Lorenzo has extended his lead at the top of the 250 MotoGP championship following his sixth win of the season in Assen today.

The Spaniard, who has dominated for the majority of the Dutch MotoGP sessions carried his form in to the race frompole position. The Aprilia rider was beaten to the first corner by Andrea Dovioso but soon got back to the front and stayed there until the chequered flag.

And so it was up tot he rest of the field to battle it out behind Jorge Lorenzo and Alex de Angelis, Alvero Bautista and Andrea Dovizioso were happy to oblige.

The early laps saw Andrea Dovizioso in second, but Alex de Angelis had other ideas and caught the Italian, overtaking him in lap seven. And so it was on to catching Jorge Lorenzo, but the championship leader had other ideas up front and managed to keep a second lead between the two of them.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty (Honda) made good headway from the start to get up to 19th from his 23rd grid place. He was to eventually finish in 21st.

Yorkshire's Dan Linfoot (Aprilia) did not have such a good day as he crashed out on lap 11.

Thomas Luthi (Aprilia) also had a weekend he would rather forget. He dislocated his shoulder in qualifying on Friday but was declared fit to race, however he experienced a loss of power and was forced to reitre on lap 18.

250 MotoGP Results

1 25 1 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fortuna Aprilia APRILIA 40'25.904
2 20 3 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM Master - Mapfre Aspar APRILIA 40'29.761
3 16 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Master - Mapfre Aspar APRILIA 40'34.587
4 13 34 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Kopron Team Scot HONDA 40'43.852
5 11 4 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 40'56.704
6 10 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 40'57.039
7 9 80 Hector BARBERA SPA Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 40'59.227
8 8 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 41'06.711
9 7 15 Roberto LOCATELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 41'37.733
10 6 55 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Kopron Team Scot HONDA 41'44.862
11 5 32 Fabrizio LAI ITA Campetella Racing APRILIA 41'45.265
12 4 44 Taro SEKIGUCHI JPN Campetella Racing APRILIA 41'52.714
13 3 73 Shuhei AOYAMA JPN Repsol Honda 250cc HONDA 41'52.754
14 2 8 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT-SAG HONDA 41'54.621
15 1 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing APRILIA 41'54.853
16 28 Dirk HEIDOLF GER Kiefer - Bos - Sotin Racing APRILIA 41'56.311
17 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Blusens Aprilia APRILIA 41'59.716
18 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Germany APRILIA 42'03.610
19 25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Kiefer - Bos - Sotin Racing APRILIA 42'10.829
20 16 Jules CLUZEL FRA Angaia Racing APRILIA 42'13.277
21 50 Eugene LAVERTY IRL Honda LCR HONDA 1 lap
22 10 Imre TOTH HUN Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 1 lap
23 69 Ronald BEITLER NED Maro Racing HONDA 1 lap
24 68 Randy GEVERS NED De Arend Racing APRILIA 3 laps
12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Emmi - Caffe Latte Aprilia APRILIA 6 laps
45 Dan LINFOOT GBR Team Sicilia APRILIA 13 laps
72 Hans SMEES NED Jaap Kingma APRILIA 14 laps
60 Julian SIMON SPA Repsol Honda 250cc HONDA 16 laps



Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell