Sepang MotoGP: Hiroshi Aoyama takes pole for 250cc GP

1 of 1

Hiroshi Aoyama has taken his first pole of the 2007 season, topping a KTM one-two as team-mate Mika Kallio qualifies second fastest.

Aoyama posted a time of 2:07.429s, with Kallio 0.032s slower. Third place went to Spain's Jorge Lorenzo, who looks almost certain to retain his 250cc world championship title, with Italian Andrea Dovizioso completing the first row.

The second row features Alvaro Bautista, Thomas Luthi, Hector Barbera and Julian Simon, with Alex De Angelis and Roberto Locatelli rounding out the top ten.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty has qualified in 20th position, sandwiched between Dirk Heidolf and Fabrizio Lai.

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk