Sepang MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo is 2007 250cc GP champion, Hiroshi Aoyama wins race

1 of 1

Jorge Lorenzo will take the 250cc world championship with him to the MotoGP class with Yamaha in 2008, as he sealed an almost certain title with a third place.

He had looked likely to take the race win when he took the lead from nearest title rival Andrea Dovizioso at half distance, despite only needing to take five points for the championship if Dovizioso won.

Dovizioso responded to remain in Lorenzo's slipstream as the duo were caught by KTM team-mates Hiroshi Aoyama and Mika Kallio, plus Hector Barbera. The five battled until the pentultimate lap when Dovizioso's wafer-thin title hopes were ended as Mika Kallio took him out in an out-braking move. Hiroshi Aoyama inherited the lead and kept it to the flag from Barbera and Lorenzo.

As Kallio remounted to finish fourth ahead of Tomas Luthi, Andrea Dovizioso remounted to cross the line eleventh. Meanwhile Jorge Lorenzo was celebrating keeping the 250cc world championship in a boxer's gold-coloured gown and gloves, and picking up a fake championship belt in parc ferme.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty finished in 17th place.

250cc GP results – Sepang, Malaysia:

1. H. Aoyama (KTM)
2. Barbera (Aprilia) +2.251secs
3. Lorenzo (Aprilia) +2.957secs
4. Kallio (KTM) +2.965secs
5. Luthi (Aprilia) +7.305secs
6. Simon (Honda) +8.747secs
7. Locatelli (Gilera) +16.105secs
8. Simoncelli (Gilera) +26.101secs
9. Takahashi (Honda) +28.032secs
10. Espargaro (Aprilia) +34.754

17. Laverty (Honda) +53.468secs

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

MCN Sports Desk

By MCN Sports Desk