Misano MotoGP: Simoncelli turns the tables on Barbera in the 250cc qualifying

1 of 1

Marco Simoncelli has taken provisional pole for Sunday’s 250cc GP this afternoon by lapping at Misano in 1’38.400, half a second ahead of second place rider Hector Barbera.

Simoncelli has turned the tables on Spanish rider Hector Barbera, since earlier this morning it was Barbera who was ahead of the competition by half a second.  

Thomas Luthi finished third for the Emmi Caffe Latte team with a time just seven tenths of a second off Simoncelli’s pace.

Hiroshi Aoyama was the fastest KTM rider of the session earning him 4th place on the timesheets, closely followed by his countryman Yuki Takahashi on his JiR Team Scot Honda.

Finnish rider Mika Kallio came in 7th, an improvement on his ranking in free practice earlier in the day, just behind Spaniard Julian Simon.

1  Marco SIMONCELLI  ITA  Metis Gilera    Gilera   1’38.400
2  Hector BARBERA   SPA  Team Toth Aprilia   Aprilia  1’38.912  
3  Thomas LUTHI   SWI  Emmi – Caffe Latte   Aprilia  1’39.109  
4  Hiroshi AOYAMA   JPN  Red Bull KTM 250   KTM   1’39.233  
5  Yuki TAKAHASHI   JPN  JiR Team Scot 250   Honda   1’39.420  
6  Julian SIMON   SPA  Repsol KTM 250cc   KTM   1’39.476  
7  Mika KALLIO   FIN  Red Bull KTM 250   KTM   1’39.504  
8  Mattia PASINI   ITA  Polaris World    Aprilia  1’39.546  
9  Hector FAUBEL   SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team   Aprilia  1’39.551  
10  Aleix ESPARGARO  SPA  Lotus Aprilia    Aprilia  1’39.677  
11  Roberto LOCATELLI  ITA  Metis Gilera    Gilera   1’39.828  
12  Alvaro BAUTISTA  SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team   Aprilia  1’39.853  
13  Lukas PESEK   CZE  Auto Kelly – CP   Aprilia  1’39.956  
14  Fabrizio LAI   ITA  Campetella Racing   Gilera   1’40.176  
15  Alex DEBON   SPA  Lotus Aprilia    Aprilia  1’40.186  
16  Eugene LAVERTY   IRL  Blusens Aprilia   Aprilia  1’40.317  
17  Karel ABRAHAM   CZE  Cardion AB Motoracing   Aprilia  1’40.360  
18  Ratthapark WILAIROT  THA  Thai Honda PTT SAG   Honda   1’40.407  
19  Alex BALDOLINI   ITA  Matteoni Racing   Aprilia  1’40.732  
20  Federico SANDI   ITA  Matteoni Racing   Aprilia  1’42.099  
21  Manuel HERNANDEZ  SPA  Blusens Aprilia   Aprilia  1’43.150  
22  Doni Tata PRADITA  INA  Yamaha Pertamina Indonesia  Yamaha   1’43.372  
23  Simone GROTZKYJ  ITA  Campetella Racing   Gilera   1’43.386  
24  Toni WIRSING   GER  Racing Team Germany   Honda   1’43.421  
25  Imre TOTH   HUN  Team Toth Aprilia   Aprilia  1’44.447  

Out of limit time
 93  Alen GYORFI  HUN  Motorcycle Competition Service  Honda

James Keen

By James Keen