Misano MotoGP: Barbera charges hard in free practice

1 of 1

Spaniard Hector Barbera charged hard in the second 250cc free practice today, lapping at Misano over 8 tenths of a second faster than Simoncelli.

The two riders have been jostling for the top spot all weekend. Metis Gilera rider Marco Simoncelli finished first in yesterday’s qualifying practice, after Barbera topped the timesheets in the first free practice just hours before.

Julian Simon was third fastest on his Red Bull KTM 250, less than a tenth of a second off the pace set by second place finisher Simoncelli.

This left Italian Mattia Pasini to take 4th position on the timesheets, almost a second off the pace set by front runner Barbera.

Taking 5th and 6th place were Reb Bull KTM 250 team mates Mika Kallio and Hiroshi Aoyama. Less than a tenth of a second seperated the pair during practice today.

1  Hector BARBERA   SPA  Team Toth Aprilia   Aprilia  1’38.082   
2  Marco SIMONCELLI  ITA  Metis Gilera    Gilera   1’38.898  
3  Julian SIMON   SPA  Repsol KTM 250cc   KTM   1’38.997  
4  Mattia PASINI   ITA  Polaris World    Aprilia  1’39.009  
5  Mika KALLIO   FIN  Red Bull KTM 250   KTM   1’39.087  
6  Hiroshi AOYAMA   JPN  Red Bull KTM 250   KTM   1’39.131  
7  Thomas LUTHI   SWI  Emmi – Caffe Latte   Aprilia  1’39.143  
8  Yuki TAKAHASHI   JPN  JiR Team Scot 250   Honda   1’39.232  
9  Aleix ESPARGARO  SPA  Lotus Aprilia    Aprilia  1’39.286  
10  Hector FAUBEL   SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team   Aprilia  1’39.314  
11  Alvaro BAUTISTA  SPA  Mapfre Aspar Team   Aprilia  1’39.351  
12  Karel ABRAHAM   CZE  Cardion AB Motoracing   Aprilia  1’39.655  
13  Alex DEBON   SPA  Lotus Aprilia    Aprilia  1’39.684  
14  Lukas PESEK   CZE  Auto Kelly – CP   Aprilia  1’39.821  
15  Fabrizio LAI   ITA  Campetella Racing   Gilera   1’40.064  
16  Roberto LOCATELLI  ITA  Metis Gilera    Gilera   1’40.105  
17  Alex BALDOLINI   ITA  Matteoni Racing   Aprilia  1’40.157  
18  Ratthapark WILAIROT  THA  Thai Honda PTT SAG   Honda   1’40.334  
19  Eugene LAVERTY   IRL  Blusens Aprilia   Aprilia  1’40.727  
20  Federico SANDI   ITA  Matteoni Racing   Aprilia  1’41.752  
21  Manuel HERNANDEZ  SPA  Blusens Aprilia   Aprilia  1’41.917  
22  Toni WIRSING   GER  Racing Team Germany   Honda   1’42.132  
23  Doni Tata PRADITA  INA  Yamaha Pertamina Indonesia  Yamaha   1’43.517  
24  Imre TOTH   HUN  Team Toth Aprilia   Aprilia  1’44.301  
25  Alen GYORFI   HUN  Motorcycle Competition Service  Honda   1’47.113  
26  Simone GROTZKYJ  ITA  Campetella Racing   Gilera   1’51.135

James Keen

By James Keen