Matt Hoyle joins 125GP ranks in 2009

1 of 1

Emerging British star Matt Hoyle will ride for the new John Surtees-inspired Maxtra team in the 2009 125GP world championship.

Although there has been no official announcement from the Chinese-backed Maxtra outfit, Hoyle’s name has appeared on the provisional Grand Prix entry lists released today.

The 17-year-old, who claimed five successive podium finishes in the 2008 Red Bull Rookies Cup, has tested for the Maxtra team in the UK with a view to a permanent deal.

Former Suzuki MotoGP boss and Maxtra team chief Garry Taylor is a big admirer of Hoyle’s and is keen for him to ride the new bike, which features an engine designed by renowned two-stroke engineer Jan Witteveen housed in a frame built by UK specialists Harris Performance.

Hoyle’s addition to the 125GP class swells British interest to four in 2009. Last season’s sensation Scott Redding, who became the youngest rider in history to win a Grand Prix when he triumphed at Donington Park in June, will again ride for the Blusens Aprilia squad.

“Bradley Smith, who claimed four podium finishes in 2008, will again use the number 38 following his switch to the Aspar Aprilia outfit. Completing the quartet is Danny Webb, who will again ride for the Dutch-based DeGraaf Aprilia squad.

Provisional 2009 125GP entry list

5 Alexis Masbou Loncin Racing
7 Dominique Aegerter Ajo Interwetten
8 Lorenzo Zanetti WWC
11 Sandro Cortese Ajo Interwetten
12 Esteve Rabat Blusens Aprilia
16 Cameron Beaubier Red Bull KTM
17 Stefan Bradl  Kiefer Racing
18 Nicolas Terol Jack & Jones Pons WRB
24 Simone Corsi Jack & Jones Pons WRB
27 Stefano Bianco CBC Corse
29 Andrea Iannone WWC
30 Pere Tutusaus Matteoni Racing
32 Lorenzo Savadori Fontana Racing
33 Sergio Gadea Bancaja Aspar Team
34 Randy Krummenacher Degraaf Aprilia
38 Bradley Smith Bancaja Aspar Team
44 Pol Espargaro Belson Derbi
45 Scott Redding Blusens Aprilia
60 Julian Simon Bancaja Aspar Team
66 Matthew Hoyle Maxtra Team
71 Tomoyoshi Koyama Loncin Racing
72 Marco Ravaioli CBC Corse
73 Takaaki Nakagami WWC
81 Jasper Iwema Kiefer Racing
88 Michael Ranseder Maxtra Team
93. Marc Marquez  Red Bull KTM
94. Jonas Folger WWC
99. Danny Webb Degraaf Aprilia
TBC Belson Derbi

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt