Assen MotoGP: Alvaro Bautista seals pole for 250GP

1 of 1

Alvaro Bautista has clinched pole position for tomorrow’s 250GP in Assen after other rider was today able to match his impressive time set in yesterday’s first qualifying session.

The Spaniard will start from pole on the Mapfre Aspar Team Aprilia with Hector barbera beside him in second. Neither rider was able to improve on their own Thursday qualifying times leaving them in control at the top of the timesheets.

Marco Simoncelli held on to the third spot, but he did improve on his time from yesterday as he set a 1:39.854 with 12 minutes of the session remaining.

Making up the front row is Lotus Aprilia’s Alex Debon who put in a sterling effort to move up from eighth to fourth with a lap of 1:40.059 near the end of the session.

Ireland’s Eugene Laverty had a crash with six minutes to go but was fortunately unhurt and was able to get going again. He’ll start from 18th place on the Blusens Aprilia.

Assen MotoGP 250 qualifying two results:

1 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team APRILIA 1'39.592
2 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 1'39.854
3 Alex DEBON SPA Lotus Aprilia APRILIA 1'40.059
4 Hector BARBERA SPA Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 1'40.441
5 Thomas LUTHI SWI Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'40.588
6 Roberto LOCATELLI ITA Metis Gilera GILERA 1'40.759
7 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Lotus Aprilia APRILIA 1'40.788
8 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 1'40.914
9 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM 250 KTM 1'40.935
10 Mattia PASINI ITA Polaris World APRILIA 1'40.936
11 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team APRILIA 1'40.972
12 Julian SIMON SPA Repsol KTM 250cc KTM 1'41.573
13 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN JiR Team Scot 250 HONDA 1'41.651
14 Fabrizio LAI ITA Campetella Racing GILERA 1'41.721
15 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT SAG HONDA 1'41.946
16 Manuel POGGIALI RSM Campetella Racing GILERA 1'42.095
17 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'42.121
18 Eugene LAVERTY IRL Blusens Aprilia APRILIA 1'42.943
19 Lukas PESEK CZE Auto Kelly - CP APRILIA 1'43.254
20 Imre TOTH HUN Team Toth Aprilia APRILIA 1'44.203
21 Frederik WATZ SWE Jaap Kingma Racing APRILIA 1'44.481
22 Russel GOMEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia APRILIA 1'44.639
23 Doni Tata PRADITA INA Yamaha Pertamina Indonesia YAMAHA 1'45.400

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Sarah Carnell

By Sarah Carnell