Catalunya MotoGP: Mike Di Meglio takes 125GP win

1 of 1

Frenchman Mike Di Meglio has taken victory at the Catalunya GP after Nicolas Terol and Joan Olive crashed out during the final stages of the race. Mike Di Meglio now leads the 125GP world championship.

Britains Scott Redding was the highest finisher in sixth position after he dropped back from the leading pack, where he had been running. Danny Webb finished 11th.

Polaris World Aprilia rider Bradley Smith looked like he was going to finish down the pack in 20th due to his injuries from a crash in Mugello and a crash yesterday during qualifying, but he managed to make his way up the pack to finish 14th.

Mike Di Meglio led for the majority of the race, only being overtaken by Nicolas Terol on lap 13, but Di Meglio soon re-took the lead and stayed there till the end.

Sergio Gadea finished ninth after he wa forced wide on lap eight by Nicolas Terol and had to work his way through the pack.

Pol Espargaro took second place - his best finish of the season so far.

1  M. DI MEGLIO  FRA  Ajo Motorsport  41'08.708
2  P. ESPARGARO  SPA  Belson Derbi  + 0.268
3  G. TALMACSI  HUN  Bancaja Aspar Team  + 0.338
4  S. BRADL  GER  Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing  + 8.765
5  S. CORSI  ITA  Jack & Jones WRB  + 10.141
6  S. REDDING  GBR  Blusens Aprilia Junior  + 11.178
7  S. BONSEY  USA  Degraaf Grand Prix  + 13.671
8  S. CORTESE  GER  Emmi - Caffe Latte  + 13.755
9  S. GADEA  SPA  Bancaja Aspar Team  + 15.541
10  M. MARQUEZ  SPA  Repsol KTM 125cc  + 18.962
11  D. WEBB  GBR  Degraaf Grand Prix  + 22.653
12  D. AEGERTER  SWI  Ajo Motorsport  + 24.928
13  T. KOYAMA  JPN  ISPA KTM Aran  + 25.013
14  B. SMITH  GBR  Polaris World  + 25.059
15  R. KRUMMENACHER  SWI  Red Bull KTM 125  + 25.188
16  E. VAZQUEZ  SPA  Blusens Aprilia Junior  + 25.352
17  M. RANSEDER  AUT  I.C. Team  + 25.541
18  S. BIANCO  ITA  S3+ WTR San Marino Team  + 31.365
19  P. TUTUSAUS  SPA  Bancaja Aspar Team  + 42.899
20  J. CLUZEL  FRA  Loncin Racing  + 43.469
21  H. VAN DEN BERG  NED  Degraaf Grand Prix  + 56.930
22  T. NAKAGAMI  JPN  I.C. Team  + 1'01.318
23  R. LACALENDOLA  ITA  Matteoni Racing  + 1'02.867
24  R. MURESAN  ROU  Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing  + 1'17.370
25  L. ROSSI  FRA  FFM Honda GP 125  + 1'18.790
26  R. CARDUS  SPA  Andalucia Derbi  + 1'27.350
27  D. SAEZ  SPA  Gaviota Prosolia Racing

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer