Qatar MotoGP: Bradley Smith and Danny Webb stun with 1-2 in 125 qualifying

Published: 07 March 2008

Bradley Smith escaped injury in a late crash to claim a brilliant provisional pole position for Sunday’s Qatar 125GP, with fellow British rider Danny Webb finishing in a stunning second.

The British duo were untouchable at the top of the timesheets to shine under Qatar’s floodlights.

Bradley Smith posted the fastest time with a 2:05.286 on his 10th lap, but just two laps later with only three minutes of opening qualifying remaining walked away unhurt when he lost the front of his Polaris World Aprilia at the first corner.

Smith was 1.2secs faster than he managed this afternoon.

At one point Bradley Smith threatened domination usually reserved for MotoGP world champion Casey Stoner as he best lap moved him 0.810secs clear of the field in the final seven minutes.

Danny Webb though produced an inspired late challenge when he jumped to second place with a best lap of 2:05.593, which was 0.307secs slower than Smith.

Scott Redding, who was a brilliant third fastest this afternoon, was 11th fastest with a best of 2:06.810.

Qatar MotoGP 125 first qualifying results:

1 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 2'05.286
2 Danny WEBB GBR Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2'05.593
3 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 2'05.790
4 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 2'06.096
5 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 2'06.209
6 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 2'06.218
7 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2'06.262
8 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 2'06.613
9 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 2'06.702
10 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 2'06.709
11 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 2'06.810
12 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 2'06.896
13 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 2'06.914
14 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 2'06.922
15 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 2'07.016
16 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2'07.161
17 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2'07.308
18 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 2'07.338
19 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 2'07.368
20 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 2'07.442
21 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 2'07.450
22 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 2'08.058
23 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 2'08.372
24 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 2'08.502
25 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Red Bull KTM 125 KTM 2'08.529
26 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2'08.667
27 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 2'08.769
28 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 2'09.194
29 Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2'09.299
30 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 2'10.169
31 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 2'10.388
32 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 2'10.752
33 Dino LOMBARDI ITA BQR Blusens APRILIA 2'11.791
Not qualified (Out 107%)
 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 2'14.78