Jerez MotoGP: Bradley Smith on provisional 125GP front row

1 of 1

Bradley Smith has qualified on the provisional front row for Sunday’s Spanish 125GP clash in Jerez.

In sunny but windy conditions this afternoon, the British teenager posted a best time of 1:48.370s to secure the third fastest time in opening qualifying.

The Polaris World Aprilia rider, who topped the timesheets in two winter test sessions in Jerez earlier this year, clocked his best lap in the final 40 seconds and was 0.292secs adrift of provisional pole-setter Nicolas Terol.

The Spaniard was also fastest in this morning’s opening free practice session.

With just four minutes of the session remaining, Smith had been as close to 0.083secs off provisional pole, as he looks to bounce back from his disappointing start to the 2008 campaign in Qatar earlier this month.

After qualifying on pole position in the Middle East, a broken steering damper left him trailing outside of the points.

British rookie sensation Scott Redding was ninth quickest this afternoon, with the Gloucester 15-year-old setting a best time of 1:48.828.

That was 0.750secs off pole position as the Blusens Aprilia rider got as high as fifth with just three minutes remaining.

Danny Webb had to settle for 14th on the provisional grid as he clocked a 1:49.014 best lap.

He was as high as seventh at one stage though he escaped crashing in a high-speed off-track excursion approaching the fast Curva Sito Pons right-hander.

Jerez MotoGP 125GP qualifying results:

1 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.078
2 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.337
3 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 1'48.370
4 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'48.412
5 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'48.572
6 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'48.620
7 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'48.668
8 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.696
9 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'48.828
10 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.846
11 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.848
12 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'48.852
13 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.949
14 Danny WEBB GBR Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'49.014
15 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'49.020
16 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'49.048
17 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'49.270
18 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 1'49.353
19 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'49.355
20 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.560
21 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.755
22 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.884
23 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'50.224
24 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'50.340
25 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'50.513
26 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'50.739
27 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'50.902
28 Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'50.942
29 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'51.634
30 Axel PONS SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'51.927
31 Ivan MAESTRO SPA Alpo Atletico de Madrid HONDA 1'52.070
32 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'52.263
33 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 1'52.804
34 Daniel SAEZ SPA Gaviota Prosolia Racing APRILIA 1'53.171
35 Albert MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Derbi DERBI 1'53.428
36 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 1'53.992
Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt