Jerez MotoGP: Bradley Smith claims 125GP pole

1 of 1

British rider Bradley Smith has claimed his second successive 125GP pole position after a brilliant performance in today’s final qualifying session in Jerez.

A best lap of 1:47.587 in hot and sunny conditions secured the Polaris World Aprilia rider pole position by 0.454secs from Nicolas Terol as the three British riders finished inside the top ten.

Bradley Smith, who claimed pole in the season’s opening race in Qatar, first moved to the top of the timesheets with just over five minutes remaining with a lap of 1:47.960.

That moved him 0.188secs clear of provisional pole-setter Terol. Just three minutes remained when he clocked his best time to lead by nearly 0.5secs as he slashed 0.8secs off his best time in yesterday’s opening qualifying session.

Stefan Bradl and reigning world champion Gabor Talmacsi complete the front row.
Rookie Scott Redding produced another eye-catching display after his brilliant debut in Qatar earlier this month.

The 15-year-old will start from eighth on the grid after he logged a best time of 1:48.315. His late surge bumped fellow British rider Danny Webb off the second row of the grid.

Danny Webb will start from the front of the third row in ninth after his best time of 1:48.333.

Jerez MotoGP 125 qualifying practice two results:

1 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 1'47.587
2 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.041
3 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'48.070
4 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.113
5 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.128
6 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'48.146
7 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'48.165  
8 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'48.315
9 Danny WEBB GBR Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'48.333
10 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.345
11 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'48.348
12 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.437
13 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.441
14 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 1'48.481
15 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'48.510
16 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 1'48.520
17 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'48.688  
18  Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 1'48.783  
19 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 1'48.791
20 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'48.799
21 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'48.907
22 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'49.177
23 Axel PONS SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'49.357
24 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.392
25 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'49.446
26 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'49.720
27 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'49.773
28 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'49.879
29 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'49.936
30 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'50.161
31 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'50.557
32 Daniel SAEZ SPA Gaviota Prosolia Racing APRILIA 1'51.362
33 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 1'51.894
34  Ivan MAESTRO SPA Alpo Atletico de Madrid HONDA 1'52.653
35 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Derbi DERBI 1'53.283

Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA
 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM


Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt