Ad closing in seconds....

Jerez MotoGP: Bradley Smith fastest in second 125 practice

Published: 29 March 2008

British teenager Bradley Smith has posted the fastest time in the second 125GP practice session ahead of tomorrow’s Spanish MotoGP in Jerez.

The Polaris World Aprilia rider jumped to the top of the timesheets in the dying seconds of this morning’s session, which was run under bright skies.

Bradley Smith’s best time of 1:48.088 beat provisional pole-setter Nicolas Terol by just 0.090secs, and completing a brilliant start to the second day in Jerez, Danny Webb was third quickest.

Smith first jumped to the top of the timesheets with 14 minutes elapsed when a 1:49.434 secured top spot. A 1:48.699 with 17 minutes remaining reclaimed top spot after Terol took charge, but he’d slipped outside the top four before a late surge.

Just three minutes remained when a 1:48.448 moved him to within 0.3secs of Terol before his late attack.

Aprilia rider Danny Webb had a great session too after hardly figuring outside the top five. He occupied second after 11 and 23 minutes had been completed and with just 90 seconds left on the clock he seized second place again with a best time of 1:48.439. Smith’s late lap relegated him to third.

British rookie Scott Redding was down in 23rd place. The Gloucester rider ended the session with a best time of 1:49.741, which was 1.6s off Smith’s pace.

Jerez MotoGP 125 free practice two results:

1 Bradley SMITH GBR Polaris World APRILIA 1'48.088
2 Nicolas TEROL SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.178
3 Danny WEBB GBR Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'48.439
4 Sergio GADEA SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.450
6 Simone CORSI ITA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'48.486
7 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'48.604
8 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'48.644
9 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.769
10 Pablo NIETO SPA Onde 2000 KTM KTM 1'48.785
11 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'48.823
12 Joan OLIVE SPA Belson Derbi DERBI 1'48.895 18 19 0.807 0.072 209.5
13 Sandro CORTESE GER Emmi - Caffe Latte APRILIA 1'49.039
14 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Ajo Motorsport DERBI 1'49.073
15 Stefan BRADL GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'49.128
16 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'49.181
17 Stevie BONSEY USA Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'49.285
18 Andrea IANNONE ITA I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.353
19 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN I.C. Team APRILIA 1'49.380
20 Esteve RABAT SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM 1'49.424
21 Stefano BIANCO ITA S3+ WTR San Marino Team APRILIA 1'49.588
22 Lorenzo ZANETTI ITA ISPA KTM Aran KTM 1'49.671
23 Scott REDDING GBR Blusens Aprilia Junior APRILIA 1'49.741
24 Michael RANSEDER AUT I.C. Team APRILIA 1'50.195 16
25 Jules CLUZEL FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'50.435
26 Axel PONS SPA Jack & Jones WRB APRILIA 1'50.699
27 Roberto LACALENDOLA ITA Matteoni Racing APRILIA 1'50.894
28 Alexis MASBOU FRA Loncin Racing LONCIN 1'50.898
29 Pere TUTUSAUS SPA Bancaja Aspar Team APRILIA 1'50.918
30 Robert MURESAN ROU Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'51.230
31 Ivan MAESTRO SPA Alpo Atletico de Madrid HONDA 1'51.708
32 Robin LASSER GER Grizzly Gas Kiefer Racing APRILIA 1'52.103
33 Hugo VAN DEN BERG NED Degraaf Grand Prix APRILIA 1'52.172
34 Daniel SAEZ SPA Gaviota Prosolia Racing APRILIA 1'52.300
35 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Derbi DERBI 1'53.126
36 Louis ROSSI FRA FFM Honda GP 125 HONDA 1'53.181

Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol KTM 125cc KTM

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)