Italian MotoGP: Hector Barbera takes pole for Mugello race

1 of 1

Championship leader Hector Barbera has taken pole position for the 250cc race at Mugello with a time of  1’52″675.

The Spaniard took the top spot from Alvaro Bautista whose best time was 1,54,447. Almost one second behind Barbera. Former 250cc world champion Manuel Poggiali qualified sixth, but at one stage  was third.

Kallio topped the timesheets until six minutes from the end when Hector Barbera took the top slot. Marco Simoncelli qualified third with a time of 1’53″611, knocking Red Bull KTM rider Mika Kallio back to fourth.

Polaris World Aprilia rider Matia Pasini qualified ninth. Pasini, who is currently second in the championship posted his best time of 1’54″489 with seven minutes of the session remaining.

leix Espargaro, yesterdays fastest rider qualified 14th with a time of 1’54″712.

Ireland’s Eugene Laverty qualified 20th  with a time of 1’56″990 on his Blusens Aprilia.

 1.  Hector Barbera Aprilia 1:52.675
 2.  Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1:53.447
 3.  Marco Simoncelli Gilera 1:53.611 
 4.  Mika Kallio KTM 1:53.635  
 5.  Lukas Pesek Aprilia 1:53.928  
 6.  Manuel Poggiali Gilera 1:54.144  
 7.  Alex Debon Aprilia 1:54.271  
 8.  Thomas Luthi Aprilia 1:54.376  
 9.  Mattia Pasini Aprilia 1:54.489 
10.  Hiroshi Aoyama KTM 1:54.516 
11.  Yuki Takahashi Honda 1:54.546 
12.  Hector Faubel Aprilia 1:54.578 
13.  Julian Simon KTM 1:54.626 
14.  Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1:54.712 
15.  Fabrizio Lai Gilera 1:54.735 
16.  Karel Abraham Aprilia 1:54.838 
17.  R. Wilairot Honda 1:55.549 
18.  R. Locatelli Gilera 1:55.888 
19.  Imre Toth Aprilia 1:56.325 
20.  Eugene Laverty Aprilia 1:56.990  
21.  Alex Baldolini Aprilia 1:57.305  
22.  Russell Gomez Aprilia 1:58.069  
23.  D.T. Pradita Yamaha 1:58.731  

Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer