Sepang MotoGP: Rossi storms to victory in Malaysia

1 of 1

2008 MotoGP Champion Valentino Rossi stormed to victory once again in Malaysia, leaving challenger Dani Pedrosa to settle for second on the podium.

Rossi took his 9th victory of the season at the Sepang circuit. Pedrosa got a typical quick start from pole position to claim the hole shot, but Rossi held on, unwilling to let Pedrosa break away into an early lead.

By lap 10 Rossi had passed the Spanish rider then with a clear track stretching out before him, the world champion started to pull away.

Second place was enough to grant Dani Pedrosa his best result so far since his slightly controversial mid-season switch to Bridgestone tyres.

Dovizioso took his first podium of the season by finishing third in Malaysia this weekend.

Casey Stoner only managed to finish 6th, but this is enough for the Aussie to stay second behind Rossi overall this season.

James Toseland and Jorge Lorenzo both failed to finish the race.

1  Valentino ROSSI  ITA  Fiat Yamaha Team   Yamaha   43’06.007   
2  Dani PEDROSA   SPA  Repsol Honda Team   Honda   43’10.015  
3  Andrea DOVIZIOSO  ITA  JiR Team Scot MotoGP   Honda   43’14.543  
4  Nicky HAYDEN   USA  Repsol Honda Team   Honda   43’14.865  
5  Shinya NAKANO   JPN  San Carlo Honda Gresini  Honda   43’16.590  
6  Casey STONER   AUS  Ducati Marlboro Team   Ducati   43’19.647  
7  Loris CAPIROSSI  ITA  Rizla Suzuki MotoGP   Suzuki   43’21.943  
8  Colin EDWARDS   USA  Tech 3 Yamaha    Yamaha   43’24.809  
9  Chris VERMEULEN  AUS  Rizla Suzuki MotoGP   Suzuki   43’29.181  
10  Randy DE PUNIET  FRA  LCR Honda MotoGP   Honda   43’31.523  
11  John HOPKINS   USA  Kawasaki Racing Team   Kawasaki  43’33.616  
12  Anthony WEST   AUS  Kawasaki Racing Team   Kawasaki  43’47.406  
13  Sylvain GUINTOLI  FRA  Alice Team    Ducati   43’51.624  
14  Alex DE ANGELIS  RSM  San Carlo Honda Gresini  Honda   43’55.010  
15  Toni ELIAS   SPA  Alice Team    Ducati   44’05.146  
16  Marco MELANDRI   ITA  Ducati Marlboro Team   Ducati   44’09.335  
17  Nobuatsu AOKI   JPN  Rizla Suzuki MotoGP   Suzuki   44’54.370  

Not classified
 Jorge LORENZO   SPA  Fiat Yamaha Team   Yamaha   25’38.557   
 James TOSELAND   GBR  Tech 3 Yamaha    Yamaha   4’19.122

James Keen

By James Keen