Indianapolis MotoGP: Lorenzo wins, Rossi and Pedrosa crash

1 of 1

Fiat Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo has won the Indianapolis MotoGP race after team-mate Valentino Rossi and fellow Spaniard Dani Pedrosa crashed out.

Pedrosa crashed out of the lead early on in the race but remounted his Repsol Honda to finish 10th.

World champion Rossi crashed out while in second place behind Lorenzo, but after remounting retired to the pits.

Italian Alex De Angelis surprisingly took the second step on the podium. The podium was rounded off by Nicky Hayden, who was delighted to have finished third at his home race.

Briton James Toseland equalled his best ever MotoGP result in sixth place.

1. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team 47min 13.592 sec
2. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini 47min 23.027 sec
3. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 47min 26.539 sec
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 47min 27.070 sec
5. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 47min 39.846 sec
6. James Toseland GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 47min 46.000 sec
7. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 47min 47.992 sec
8. Mika Kallio FIN Ducati Marlboro Team 47min 48.448 sec
9. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 47min 58.597 sec
10. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 47min 58.969 sec
11. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 47min 59.070 sec
12. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 48min 5.886 sec
13. Aleix Espargaro SPA Pramac Racing 48min 17.144 sec
14. Gabor Talmacsi HUN Scot Racing Team MotoGP 48min 28.678 sec

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Liam Marsden

By Liam Marsden

Former MCN Web Producer