Donington GP250 stats: Facts and figures

Published: 23 July 2009

Championship leader Hiroshi Aoyama finished third at Donington in both 2006 and 2007.

In 2006 Alvaro Bautista did the clean sweep in the 125cc class at Donington of race win, pole position and new lap record.  In 2007 he was one of the many riders to crash in the wet 250cc race and last year he qualified on pole and was leading the race on the penultimate lap until a clash with Simoncelli dropped him back to third.

Hector Barbera’s 125cc victory at Donington in 2003 was his debut win in Grand Prix racing.  His 4th place finish last year is his best result from four starts in the 250cc class at Donington.

Marco Simoncelli set a new lap record on his way to finishing second at the British GP last year – his first podium finish at the Donington circuit.

Mattia Pasini won the 125cc GP at Donington two years ago from pole position.  Last year on his first race at the circuit riding in the 250cc class he crashed out on lap thirteen.

Alex Debon’s second place finish in Germany was his first podium since the Japanese Grand Prix last year.