2010 MotoGP entry list released

1 of 1

As expected, only 17 riders will start the 2010 MotoGP world championship with all eyes on the hugely anticipated title scrap between Valentino Rossi, Jorge Lorenzo, Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa.

While the Aspar Ducati and Interwetten Honda teams will join the premier class field in 2010, there is no Hayate or Scot who finished the 2009 campaign.

Aside from the expected fierce title fight between Fiat Yamaha duo Rossi and Lorenzo, Ducati’s Stoner and Spaniard Pedrosa, much attention will focus on a clutch of new talent entering MotoGP in 2010.

A big draw will be record-breaking reigning World Superbike champion Ben Spies who joins Colin Edwards in the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 squad.

The continuing battle between 250GP rivals Marco Simoncelli, Alvaro Bautista and Hector Barbera is also expected to be another big feature of the forthcoming campaign, which kicks off in Qatar on April 11.

Loris Capirossi remains the most seasoned campaigner on the grid and he will notch his 300th Grand Prix appearance when the new season gets underway.

And not surprisingly, reigning MotoGP world champion Rossi keeps his famous number 46 on board his factory Yamaha YZR-M1 machine.

2010 MotoGP entry list
4 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team
5 Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
7 Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Intrerwetten Honda MotoGP
11 Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
14 Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP
19 Alvaro Bautista SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
33 Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini
26 Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team
27 Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team
36 Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing Team
40 Hector Barbera SPA Aspar MotoGP Team
41 Aleix Espargaro SPA Pramac Racing Team
46 Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team
58 Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini
65 Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
69 Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboto Team
99 Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt