Bradley Smith heads 27-strong 125GP grid

1 of 1

Bradley Smith will start the 2010 125GP world championship campaign as clear pre-season favourite after a 27-rider grid was unveiled today.

Smith, who became Britain’s most successful rider since Barry Sheene with two victories in a breakthrough 2009 campaign, will again ride for the Spanish-based Aspar Aprilia squad running the number 38.

Nicolas Terol, who finished third in 2009, will partner the Oxfordshire rider following the departure of Julian Simon to the new Moto2 class.

Smith is joined by fellow British rider Danny Webb, who will ride for Team WRB. Aprilia.

Webb will run his traditional number 99 as he goes in search of his first world championship podium.

Webb is back in testing action at the beginning of March at the Valencia circuit.
Other title contenders include Sandro Cortese, Pol Espargaro and Marc Marquez, who is now on an Aprilia following the withdrawal of Austrian factory KTM.

2010 125GP entry list
5 Alexis Masbou FRA Worldwiderace Team   Aprilia
7 Efren Vazquez ESP Bainet Derbi     Derbi
9 Muhammad Zulfahmi MAL Empowerment WorldWideRace Team  Aprilia
11 Sandro Cortese GER Red Bull Ajo Motorsport   Derbi
12 Esteve Rabat SPA BQR Racing     Aprilia
14 Johann Zarco FRA WTR San Marino Team   Aprilia
18 Nicolas Terol SPA Bancaja Aspar Team    Aprilia
23 Alberto Moncayo SPA Andalucia Cajasol  Aprilia
24  Simone Corsi SPA Fontana Racing    Aprilia
26 Adrian Martin SPA Team WRB     Aprilia
32 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Matteoni C.P. Racing   Aprilia
35 Randy Krummenacher SUI Molenaar Racing   Aprilia
38 Bradley Smith GB Bancaja Aspar Team    Aprilia
39 Luis Salom SPA Lambretta Reparto Corse   Lambretta
44 Pol Espargaro SPA Bainet Derbi     Derbi
50 Sturia Fagerhaug NOR Empowerment WorldWideRace Team Aprilia
69 Louis Rossi FRA CBC Corse     Aprilia
71 Tomoyoshi Koyama JPN Racing Team Germany  Honda
72 Marco Ravaioli ITA Lambretta Reparto Corse   Lambretta
78 Marcel Schrotter GER Interwetten Racing   Honda
80 Quentin Jacquet FRA Molenaar Racing    Aprilia
84 Jakub Kornfeil CZE Racing Team Germany   Honda
87 Luca Marconi ITA Worldwiderace Team    Aprilia
93 Marc Marquez SPA Red Bull Ajo Motorsport   Derbi
94 Jonas Folger GER Worldwiderace Team    Aprilia
99 Danny Webb GB Team WRB     Aprilia

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt