Ad closing in seconds....

Le Mans MotoGP: Viñales snatches his first 125GP win from Terol

Published: 15 May 2011

Updated: 24 November 2014

Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) snatched first place from Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar Team) in the final corner of the last lap at Le Mans after a race long battle between the Spanish riders. Winning only his fourth GP race, Viñales took first after Terol ran wide following a mistake in the penultimate corner.

Fellow Spaniard Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) finished third to take his third podium of his GP career. Bankia Aspar Team rider Hector Faubel was fourth, whilst Frenchman Johann Zarco (Avant-Airasia-Ajo) recovered to take fifth at the Bugatti circuit.

Sandro Cortese (Intact-Racing Team Germany) had to settle for seventh, finishing behind fellow German Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport).

Brit Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) took seventeenth place, whilst Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing) finished in twenty-second. Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) and Harry Stafford (Ongetta-Centro Seta) both failed to finish the race suffering mechanical failures.
1 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing 42'00.505
2 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc +0.048
3 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo +6.836
4 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc +8.298
5 Johann ZARCO FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo +8.590
6 Jonas FOLGER GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport +10.236
7 Sandro CORTESE GER Intact-Racing Team Germany +10.667
8 Sergio GADEA SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing +15.642
9 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Andalucia Banca Civica +22.838
10 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP +30.901
11 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Banca Civica +33.796
12 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Phonica Racing +34.413
13 Louis ROSSI FRA Matteoni Racing +34.696
14 Adrian MARTIN SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc +41.236
15 Alexis MASBOU FRA WTR-Ten10 Racing +56.943
16 Hiroki ONO JPN Caretta Technology +57.409
17 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport +57.763
18 Jasper IWEMA NED Ongetta-Abbink Metaal +57.823
19 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Airasia-Sic-Ajo +57.884
20 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Team Italia FMI +1'02.089
21 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Ongetta-Centro Seta +1'02.713
22 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Phonica Racing +1'25.418
23 Giulian PEDONE SWI Phonica Racing +1'42.498
24 Francesco MAURIELLO ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing +1'43.885
25 Peter SEBESTYEN HUN Caretta Technology  +1'44.903
26 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI +1'45.356
27 Kevin SZALAI FRA Maxiscoot MVT Racing 1 Lap
28 Kevin THOBOIS FRA Team RMS 1 Lap

Not Classified
36 Joan PERELLO SPA Matteoni Racing 4 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing 7 Laps
77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing 7 Laps
21 Harry STAFFORD GBR Ongetta-Centro Seta 11 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing 21 Laps

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)