Provisional 2012 MotoGP calendar released

1 of 1

The first 1000cc MotoGP clash will take place under the Losail International Circuit floodlights in Qatar on April 15 after a provisional 2012 calendar was released today.

Next year’s world championship is scheduled to be run over 18 races again, though no contract is in place yet for the Spanish round in Jerez, the Portuguese round in Estoril and the German round at a venue to be confirmed following the surprise omission of the Sachsenring.

Sachsenring promoters reported huge losses for this year’s event, despite attracting one of the biggest weekend crowds of the season, and the race could now be staged at the Nurburgring or Lausitzring.

British fans will get their first chance to see the new 1000cc four-strokes on home shores on June 17, with the Silverstone race scheduled to be the sixth round of the campaign.

Twice on the calendar there will be three races running on successive weekends with the Assen, German and Mugello rounds taking place between June 30 and July 15. And there will be a return of the flyaway triple-header at the end of the season with the Japanese, Malaysia and Australian rounds taking place between October 14 and October 28.

Here’s the full provisional calendar:

15 April, Qatar*
29 April,  Jerez (STC)
6 May, Estoril (STC)
20 May, Le Mans
3 June, Catalunya
17 June, Silverstone
30 June, Assen**
8 July, Germany (STC) - TBC
15 July, Mugello
29 July, Laguna Seca***
19 August, Indianapolis
26 August, Brno
16 September, Misano
30 September, Motorland Aragon
14 October, Twin Ring Motegi
21 October, Sepang
28 October, Phillip Island
11 November, Valencia

* Evening Race
** Saturday Race
*** Only MotoGP class
STC (Subject to the contract)
TBC (To be confirmed)

Read the latest stories causing a buzz this week in Sport…

Matthew Birt

By Matthew Birt