Jerez MotoGP: Stoner takes first win of 2012

Published: 29 April 2012

Reigning MotoGP champion Casey Stoner has taken his first race win of 2012 at Jerez today despite suffering from arm pump in the latter stages of the race.

The start of the race saw some of the best racing seen in the premier class for a long time, with the first six riders all switching places as they battled for the lead.

Stoner and Jorge Lorenzo were able to pull away from the chasing pack, with Stoner opening up a slight gap to Lorenzo. Towards the end of the race Lorenzo was catching Stoner, but didn't quite get close enough to make a move.

Brit Cal Crutchlow was in touch with the front runners for the entirety of the race, equalling his best finish of fourth. Crutchlow was right on third place finisher Dani Pedrosa's rear wheel, but was unable to get close enough to make a move for his first podium finish in MotoGP.

Ducati rider Nicky Hayden got an excellent start, holding third position before making a mistake and losing several places and then dropping off the pace to finish eighth, just ahead of team-mate Valentino Rossi.

Factory Yamaha rider Ben Spies continued his disappointing start to 2012 with an 11th place finish.

Crutchlow's team-mate Andrea Dovizioso finished fifth again.

Aprilia CRT rider James Ellison pulled into the pits on the penultimate lap. Up until his retirement Ellison was enjoying a strong race, up to 14th place at one point.

CRT rider Colin Edwards was unable to replicate the good form he showed in the first race at Qatar, finishing in 16th position with only Karel Abraham behind him, who crashed and remounted.

1 25 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 157.3 45'33.897
2 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 157.2 +0.947
3 16 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 157.1 +2.063
4 13 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 157.1 +2.465
5 11 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 156.2 +18.100
6 10 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 156.0 +21.395
7 9 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 155.6 +28.637
8 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 155.6 +28.869
9 7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 155.3 +34.852
10 6 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 155.3 +35.103
11 5 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 155.1 +38.041
12 4 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 153.2 +1'12.728
13 3 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda 152.9 +1'18.669
14 2 54 Mattia PASINI ITA Speed Master ART 152.3 +1'29.142
15 1 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 152.1 +1'32.478
16  5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 151.7 +1'40.577
17  17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 150.6 1 Lap