Ad closing in seconds....

British MotoGP: Lorenzo extends championship lead with win

Published: 17 June 2012

Updated: 24 November 2014

Factory Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo extended his lead at the top of the championship with a dominant win at Silverstone today.

Lorenzo got off to a slow start, as team-mate Ben Spies took to the lead ahead of Stoner and pole sitter Alvaro Bautista. It wasn't until lap seven that Lorenzo started to make his way to the front.

Lorenzo had a good battle with Casey Stoner to take the lead on lap 12, with the riders swapping places at each corner until Lorenzo was able to pull away.

Dani Pedrosa - who also got a slow start - slowly made his way through the field and passed Bautista to claim the final podium spot behind team-mate Stoner.

Brit Cal Crutchlow started the race from the back of the grid after injuring his left ankle during practice on Saturday. The Brit was up to 13th position at the end of the first lap and rode a heroic race to finish sixth, overtaking Nicky Hayden on the final lap.

Tech 3 rider Andrea Dovizioso was battling with Pedrosa and looked like he could claim his second podium on the Tech 3 Yamaha machine until he made a mistake and was forced to pull in to the pits due to a problem with his right handlebar.

Dovi went back out on track and finished 19th.

Aleix Espargaro finished top CRT in 11th spot, with James Ellison in 14th.

1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 171.5 41'16.429
2 20 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 171.3 +3.313
3 16 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 171.3 +3.599
4 13 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 171.2 +5.196
5 11 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 170.7 +11.531
6 10 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 170.5 +15.112
7 9 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 170.5 +15.527
8 8 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 170.0 +22.521
9 7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 169.1 +36.138
10 6 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 168.7 +41.328
11 5 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART 167.3 +1'03.157
12 4 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART 167.3 +1'03.443
13 3 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR 167.0 +1'07.290
14 2 77 James ELLISON GBR Paul Bird Motorsport ART 166.5 +1'14.782
15 1 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Avintia Blusens BQR 166.5 +1'15.108
16  5 Colin EDWARDS USA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 165.5 +1'29.899
17  9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda 164.9 +1'40.302
18  22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR 164.1 +1'52.099
19  4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 160.7 1 Lap

Bauer Media

Bauer Media Group consists of: Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Company number: 01176085, Bauer Radio Ltd, Company Number: 1394141
Registered Office: Media House, Peterborough Business Park, Lynch Wood, Peterborough, PE2 6EA H Bauer Publishing,
Company Number: LP003328 Registered Office: Academic House, 24-28 Oval Road, London, NW1 7DT.
All registered in England and Wales. VAT no 918 5617 01
Bauer Consumer Media Ltd are authorised and regulated by the FCA(Ref No. 710067)