Brno MotoGP: Marquez takes dominant win ahead of Dovi and Miller, Cal fifth.

1 of 1

Marc Marquez controlled the tenth round of the MotoGP world championship at Brno to win by 2.452s. Leading from the start, Marquez set an impressive pace ahead of Andrea Dovizioso before upping the tempo in the second half of the race despite having to save a front end slide on his Repsol Honda.

“I had to really concentrate from the beginning because there were still some wet patches at turn one.” explained Marquez. “From the start I tried to keep my rhythm. I saw that Dovi was behind me so I just kept on pushing. With ten laps to go I started to push more, which is when I had a warning from the front.”

Andrea Dovizioso made a welcome return to the podium, but ultimately had no answer to Marquez. The factory Ducati man suffered with rear tyre wear and now trails Marquez by 63 points in the championship standings.

He said: “It was strange race, it was really fast at the start and I was riding in a prefect way, but in the middle of the race the tyre dropped – the rear tyre was the limit for everyone. I couldn’t stay at the front, but I am happy to be back on the podium.”  

Pramac Ducati rider Jack Miller delivered on expectation after the circuit was hit by rain, which led to a delayed start. The Australian fought hard to reel in and pass Suzuki’s Alex Rins to secure the final spot on the podium.

Miller said: “It was nice to be in the fight right to the end, I saw Rins was spinning his rear tyre at the end, so I bided my time as I could see he was really struggling, but I still had to be patient before making my move.”

Cal Crutchlow was back in the top five after a strong ride that saw him pass Valentino Rossi and take the scalps of Fabio Quartararo, Danilo Petrucci, Takaaki Nakagami and Maverick Vinales who rounded out the top ten.

Brno MotoGP result:

1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team)
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) +2.452
3. Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) +3.497
4. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki ECSTAR) +4.858
5. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) +6.007
6. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) +9.083
7. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) +12.092
8. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Team) +13.976
9. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) +15.724
10. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) +16.558

Michael Guy

By Michael Guy

Sports Editor, former 250-racer and adventure rider